Upcoming Match-ups
  • See each player’s odds to win the 2019 AL and NL Cy Young Awards
  • View past winners and examine each top contender individually or by division
  • Track how the odds change throughout the 2019 MLB season

The graphs below have been generated by averaging the odds from a number of top online sportsbooks to give you a better sense of each pitchers’ chances of winning the 2019 AL and NL Cy Young Awards. Bookmark this page and visit it regularly to see how the odds for the top contenders ebb and flow throughout the season.

2019 American League Cy Young Odds

Top Contenders

  • [Oct 2] Astros teammates Verlander and Cole are the only two pitchers on the board at season’s end, with Cole (-140) slightly favored to win his first Cy Young.
  • [Sept 2] After no-hitting the Jays, Justin Verlander is now the odds-on favorite to win the AL Cy Young
  • [Aug 2] The race in the AL is now neck-and-neck between Houston teammates Justin Verlander (+150) and Gerrit Cole (+180), while Tampa’s Charlie Morton rounding out the top three.
  • [July 9] Lance Lynn has charged into the top 3 in AL Cy Young odds after picking up his MLB-Best 11th win.
  • [March 4] Blake Snell defied the odds last year after sportsbooks had him pegged as a +27500 longshot to win the AL Cy Young Award. He won’t sneak up on anyone this season after leading the American League in wins, ERA, and ERA+ in 2018.

2019 AL Cy Young Odds at BetOnline

Player 2019 AL Cy Young Odds at BetOnline
Gerrit Cole (Astros) -140
Justin Verlander (Astros) +100

*Odds updated on October 2, 2019.

AL Cy Young Contenders by Division

The AL East is home to some of the best teams in baseball, so it should come as no surprise that it also contains some of the best pitchers. Boston hurlers Chris Sale and David Price are perennial Cy Young contenders, and New York’s Luis Severino and Masahiro Tanaka are two talented young players who should benefit from plenty of run support in 2019.

AL Cy Young Odds for Previous Winners

Justin Verlander hasn’t won the Cy Young Award since 2011, but he showed he’s still capable of carrying a staff in 2018 when he posted a 16-9 record to go along with a sparkling 2.52 ERA. How much longer can he continue to defy Father Time?

2019 National League Cy Young Odds

Top Contenders

  • [Oct 2] An electric stretch run for deGrom (-250) vaulted him to odds-on favorite. He wasn’t even in the top five a month ago. He gave up just 12 hits, two walks, and one run over his final four starts (28.0 IP), while striking out 35 batters.
  • [Sept 2] Scherzer has closed the gap between he and Ryu after the Dodgers pitcher has allowed 18 earned runs in his last three starts
  • [Aug 2] An injury to Max Scherzer has but Hyun-Jin Ryu back to the top of the odds at -150. He continues to lead the majors in ERA and WHIP among starters.
  • [July 9] Max Scherzer is now the odds-on favorite to win the NL Cy Young award after going undefeated in June.
  • [March 4] It’s no surprise to see Max Scherzer among the top candidates to win the 2019 NL Cy Young Award. The Washington ace led the National League in wins, complete games, shutouts, innings, strikeouts, batters faced, and WHIP in 2018..

2019 NL Cy Young Odds at BetOnline

Player 2019 NL Cy Young Odds at BetOnline
Jacob deGrom (Mets) +150
Stephen Strasburg (Nationals) +175
Jack Flaherty (Cardinals) +500
Max Scherzer (Nationals) +1000
Hyun-Jin Ryu (Dodgers) +1200

*Odds updated on October 2, 2019.

NL Cy Young Contenders by Division

Not only are some of Scherzer’s biggest obstacles in the NL East, but they’re also on his own team. Fellow rotation mates Stephen Strasburg and Patrick Corbin both possess A+ stuff and could easily unseat ‘ol Blue Eye in 2019.

NL Cy Young Odds for Previous Winners

Scherzer is one of only six pitchers to win the Cy Young award in both leagues. Will he be four-times lucky in 2019?

Cy Young Winners by Team

AL Cy Young Winners by Team

Team Number of Cy Young Winners
Boston Red Sox 7
Baltimore Orioles 6
Oakland A’s 5
Detroit Tigers 5
Cleveland Indians 5
Toronto Blue Jays 4
Minnesota Twins 4
Kansas City Royals 4
New York Yankees 3
Chicago White Sox 2
Milwaukee Brewers 2
Seattle Mariners 2
Houston Astros 1
Tampa Bay Rays 2

The Red Sox have produced the most American League Cy Young winners since the award was first given in 1967. Jim Lonborg won the inaugural award and Roger Clemens picked up three during the late 80’s and early 90’s.

NL Cy Young Winners by Team

Team Number of Cy Young Winners
Philadelphia Phillies 7
Los Angeles Dodgers 7
Atlanta Braves 6
Arizona Diamondbacks 5
Chicago Cubs 5
New York Mets 6
San Diego Padres 4
St. Louis Cardinals 3
San Francisco Giants 3
Houston Astros 2
Washington Nationals 2
Montreal Expos 1

The Phillies and Dodgers have produced the most National League Cy Young winners with seven apiece. In the case of the Phillies, four of those trophies were won by Steve Carlton, who racked up 329 wins during his Hall of Fame career.

Teams Without a Cy Young Winner

AL Teams Without a Cy Young Winner

American League Teams Without a Cy Young Winner
Texas Rangers

The Rangers are the only American League club to have never produced a Cy Young winner. Texas came close in 1989 when Nolan Ryan led the league in strikeouts and finished fifth in Cy Young voting.

NL Teams Without a Cy Young Winner

National League Teams Without a Cy Young Winner
Cincinnati Reds
Colorado Rockies
Miami Marlins

Only three National League teams have yet to produce a Cy Young winner. The Reds came close in 2014 when Johnny Cueto finished second in Cy Young voting after going 20-9 with a 2.24 ERA.

Pitchers with Multiple Cy Young Awards

Pitcher Number of Cy Young Awards
Roger Clemens 7
Randy Johnson 5
Steve Carlton 4
Greg Maddux 4
Sandy Koufax 3
Pedro Martinez 3
Jim Palmer 3
Tom Seaver 3
Clayton Kershaw 3
Max Scherzer 3
Bob Gibson 2
Tom Glavine 2
Roy Halladay 2
Corey Kluber 2
Tim Lincecum 2
Denny McLain 2
Gaylord Perry 2
Bret Saberhagen 2
Johan Santana 2

Archived Cy Young Odds: 2018

Author Image

Sascha has been a Number Cruncher, Editor, and Lead Oddsmaker for SBD for over four years, specializing in football, baseball, hockey, and basketball. He has been featured on USA Today's Draft Wire, Fansided, Chicago Tribune, Newsweek, and numerous additional local and national publications.