Upcoming Match-ups

College Football Playoff Bracket

The final edition of the CFP Rankings were released on Sunday, Dec. 3 following conference championship weekend. Michigan, Washington, Texas and Alabama were unveiled as the four College Football Playoff semifinalists by the selection committee.

This year, the Rose Bowl and Sugar Bowl functioned as the national semifinals. Both games were played on Monday, January 1st, 2024. The national championship game follows on Monday, January 8th, 2024.

Based on the final CFP rankings, the college football playoff brackets saw No. 1 Michigan face No. 4 Alabama in the Rose Bowl CFP Semi-Final, while No. 2 Washington battled No. 3 Texas in the other CFP Semi-Final at the Sugar Bowl.

Michigan defeated Alabama in the Rose Bowl, so they will advance to the CFP National Championship Game on Monday, January 8th. Washington beat Texas in the Sugar Bowl, so they will also advance.

Michigan beat Washington by a 34-13 final score to win the National Championship. It’s their first championship since 1997.

The CFP Selection Committee has the final say in which teams qualify for the 2023-24 College Football Playoff. But the bracket at the top of this page will be updated after each week of the 2023-24 college football season with the current top-four teams in the country.

Looking to bet on a team in the CFP Bracket to win the National Championship? Make sure to check out the best college football betting apps for the CFP National Championship.

Where Are the College Football Playoffs This Year?

The national semifinals – the Rose Bowl and Sugar Bowl – will be played in Pasadena, CA, and New Orleans, LA, respectively, on Monday, Jan. 1st. The national championship game is at NRG Stadium in Houston, Texas, on Monday, Jan. 8th.

When Are the College Football Playoffs?

Both national semifinal games (the Rose Bowl and Suagr Bowl) will be played on Monday, Jan. 1st, 2024. One game (the Rose Bowl) will start at 5:00 pm ET. The other (the Sugar Bowl) will start at 8:45 pm ET.

The 2023-24 College Football Playoff will conclude with the National Championship Game at 7:30 pm ET (4:30 pm local time) on Monday, Jan. 8th, in Houston, Texas.

When Did the College Football Playoff Start?

The four-team College Football Playoff came into existence during the 2014-15 NCAA football season. This year will mark the ninth edition of the four-team CFP.

Prior to the College Football Playoff, the BCS National Championship was in effect from 1998 to 2014. There was no official national championship game before 1998.

How Many Teams Qualify for the College Football Playoff?

Currently, only four teams qualify for the College Football Playoff and maintain a shot at winning the national championship. The NCAA is expanding the CFP to 12 teams in the near-future (more on that below).



Which Bowl Game Is the National Championship?

Unlike in the early BCS era (1999-2006) when an existing bowl game functioned as the title game, each season’s title game has simply known as the National Championship Game since the 2006-07 NCAAF season.

Existing bowl games are still tabbed for the national semifinals, with the Fiesta Bowl and Peach Bowl getting the nod this season.

When Is the College Football Playoff Expanding?

The College Football Playoff will expand to 12 teams beginning in the 2024-25 season.  The board originally voted to start the 12-team playoff field in 2026, but it left open the possibility of moving that up to 2024 or 2025. Now the 2024 start is official.

The expanded 12-team bracket will feature the six highest-ranked conference champions as automatic qualifiers along with the next six highest-ranked teams. The four highest-ranked conference champions will be seeded 1-4 with first-round byes.

How Do Teams Qualify for the College Football Playoff?

The only way to qualify for the current iteration of the College Football Playoff is to be chosen by the CFP Selection Committee. The committee is comprised of 13 members.

Who Is on the College Football Playoff Selection Committee?

The composition of the group changes frequently, but for the 2022-23 season, the 13-member committee is comprised of the following people.

Member School (Role)
Gary Barta* Iowa (Director of Athletics)
Mitch Barnhart Kentucky (Director of Athletics)
Paola Boivin Arizona State (Professor)
Tom Burman Wyoming (Director of Athletics)
Charlie Cobb Georgia State (Director of Athletics)
Boo Corrigan NC State (Director of Athletics)
Rick George Colorado (Director of Athletics)
Will Shields Nebraska (former player, College Football Hall of Famer)
Gene Taylor Kansas State (Director of Athletics)
Joe Taylor Virginia Union (VP for Athletics)
John Urschel Penn State (former player, William V. Campbell Trophy winner)
Rod West Notre Dame (former player)
Tyrone Willingham Former HC at Notre Dame, Stanford, Washington

*Denotes committee chair.

Use any of these Ohio sports betting promos for betting on the Buckeyes this season. The launch of Ohio sports betting apps has officially arrived as of Jan. 1, 2023.

We’ve got a few sportsbook recommendations that feature massive sign-up promos to get you started with college football betting this year.

Same game parlays are one of the best ways to enjoy wagering on NCAA football, and claiming a DraftKings promo code will have you well on your way to experiencing their unique Same Game ParlayX (SGPX) feature. If you’re on the lookout for bonus bets to use on college football games, then go ahead and unlock the BetMGM promo code, as they’ve earned a reputation for handing out the most bonus bets on a regular basis. Speaking of bonus bets, make sure you sign up for a Bet365 bonus code if you’re eligible, as they’ve got a huge Bet $1, Get $200 in Bonus Bets promo for new customers.

Note: Must be 21+ & present in OH. Gambling Problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER.