Upcoming Match-ups
  • See each player’s odds of winning the 2019 AL and NL Rookie of the Year awards
  • View past winners and examine which positions have won most often
  • Receive a visualization of how the odds have changed throughout the season

Major League Baseball has been honoring its top freshmen since 1947 when Brooklyn Dodgers infielder Jackie Robinson won the inaugural Rookie of the Year Award after hitting .297 with 12 home runs and 48 RBIs. No rookie has had the same cultural and historical impact as Robinson since, but plenty of first year players have shown flashes of brilliance while contributing to the success of their teams.

We’ve been tracking the American League and National League Rookie of the Year races and have included the odds of the top contenders below. The graphs have been generated by averaging the latest odds from our most trusted sportsbooks to help you better determine each player’s probability of coming out on top.

Bookmark this page and visit it regularly to see how the odds for the top contenders ebb and flow throughout the 2019 MLB season.

American League Top Contenders

  • [July 9] Vladimir Guerrero Jr. put on quite a show at the MLB Home Run Derby, hitting 91 dingers, but he’s still behind Brandon Lowe in the odds to win the 2019 AL Rookie of the Year Award.
  • [March 13] It should come as no surprise to see that Vladimir Guerrero Jr. has the shortest opening odds to win the 2019 AL Rookie of the Year Award. The 19-year-old phenom hit .381 last season at four different minor league stops.

2019 American League Rookie of the Year Odds at Bovada

Player Team 2019 AL Rookie of the Year Odds at Bovada
Brandon Lowe Rays +135
Vladimir Guerrero Jr. Blue Jays +300
John Means Orioles +500
Eloy Jimenez White Sox +550
Michael Chavis Red Sox +2000

Odds taken July 9

Past 10 AL Rookie of the Year Winners

Year Player Team
2009 Andrew Bailey (P) Oakland Athletics
2010 Neftali Feliz (P) Texas Rangers
2011 Jeremy Hellickson (P) Tampa Bay Rays
2012 Mike Trout (OF) Los Angeles Angels
2013 Wil Myers (OF) Tampa Bay Rays
2014 Jose Abreu (1B) Chicago White Sox
2015 Carlos Correa (SS) Houston Astros
2016 Michael Fulmer (P) Detroit Tigers
2017 Aaron Judge (OF) New York Yankees
2018 Shohei Ohtani (P/DH) Los Angeles Angels

Shohei Ohtani entered his first year in the Majors with unprecedented hype, and he didn’t disappoint. The “Japanese Babe Ruth” went 4-2 with a 3.31 ERA on the mound and hit .285 with 22 home runs and 61 RBIs at the plate. He’ll spend most of 2019 at DH as he recovers from offseason Tommy John surgery.

AL Rookie of the Year Winners by Position


Five former AL Rookie of the Year winners have been enshrined in the Baseball Hall of Fame. The list includes Luis Aparicio, Rod Carew, Carlton Fisk, Eddie Murray, and Cal Ripken Jr.

National League Top Contenders

  • [August 2] Seen as the odds-on favorite less than a month ago, Pete Alonso now looks up at Mike Soroka and Fernando Tatis Jr in NL ROY odds after a cold month of July that saw him hit just .177
  • [July 9] Presumptive NL Rookie of the Year winner Pete Alonso added to his growing resume during the MLB All-Star Break by defeating fellow phenom Vladimir Guerrero Jr. in the Home Run Derby.
  • [March 13] Get used to hearing Victor Robles’ name. The Nationals outfielder has been a mainstay in Baseball’s Prospectus’ top 10 rankings for the past three seasons and hit .288 with Washington last year during a brief call up.

2019 National League Rookie of the Year Odds at BetOnline

Player Team 2019 NL Rookie of the Year Odds at BetOnline
Mike Soroka Braves +200
Fernando Tatis Jr. Padres +250
Pete Alonso Mets +275
Alex Verdugo Dodgers +400
Bryan Reynolds Pirates +500

Odds taken August 2

Past 10 NL Rookie of the Year Winners

Year Player Team
2009 Chris Coghlan (OF) Florida Marlins
2010 Buster Posey (C) San Francisco Giants
2011 Craig Kimbrel (P) Atlanta Braves
2012 Bryce Harper (OF) Washington Nationals
2013 Jose Fernandez (P) Miami Marlins
2014 Jacob deGrom (P) New York Mets
2015 Kris Bryant (3B) Chicago Cubs
2016 Corey Seager (SS) Los Angeles Dodgers
2017 Cody Bellinger (1B) Los Angeles Dodgers
2018 Ronald Acuna Jr. (OF) Atlanta Braves

Ronald Acuna Jr. won the NL Rookie of the Year award by a landslide in 2018 after hitting .293 with 26 home runs and 64 RBIs. His performance powered the Braves to their first AL East title since 2013.

NL Rookie of the Year Winners by Position


Pitching is king in the National League, so it’s only natural that hurlers have dominated the NL Rookie of the Year Award. Legendary Dodgers righty Don Newcombe won the first NL ROY Award in 1949 when he led the league in shutouts and finished with a 17-8 record and a 3.17 ERA.

Author Image

Sascha has been the Lead Oddsmaker for SBD for over four years, specializing in football, baseball, hockey, and basketball. He has been featured on USA Today's Draft Wire, Fansided, Chicago Tribune, Newsweek, and numerous additional local and national publications.