Upcoming Match-ups
  • See each player’s odds of winning the 2019 AL and NL MVP awards
  • View past winners and examine each top contender individually or by division
  • Receive a visualization of how the odds have changed throughout the season

The graphs below have been generated by averaging the odds from a number of top online sportsbooks to give you a better sense of each player’s chances of winning the 2019 AL and NL Most Valuable Player Awards. Bookmark this page and visit it regularly to see how the odds for the top contenders ebb and flow throughout the season.

2019 American League MVP Odds

Top Contenders

  • [Oct 3] Trout remains the odds-on favorite despite missing the final portion of the season; sportsbooks are giving Bregman a fighting chance, though.
  • [Sept 2] Trout is still in clear control of the award, sporting -1000 odds
  • [August 23] If not for Mike Trout, Boston’s Rafael Devers would be the talk of the American League. But not even a 20-for-37 streak with 12 extra-base hits could bring him within a country mile of Trout.
  • [August 2] Trout’s AL MVP odds have reached a season-best -1000; DJ LeMahieu is the closest competitor at +800 odds
  • [July 9] Trout is still the odds-on favorite to win AL MVP, but JD Martinez is picking up steam. His odds have improved from +10000 to +3300 over the past seven days.
  • [March 4] Mookie Betts has finished in the top six in AL MVP voting in each of the last three seasons, and finally won the award in 2018 after leading the league in batting average and slugging percentage while also supplying his regular Gold Glove-level defense in right field.

2019 AL MVP Odds at BetOnline

Player (Team) 2019 AL MVP Odds at BetOnline
 Mike Trout (Angels) -140
Alex Bregman (Astros) +100

Odds taken October 3, 2019

 AL MVP Odds for Previous Winners

Miguel Cabrera won back-to-back MVP awards in 2012 and 2013, but has seen his production drop off significantly in recent seasons due to age and injury. The 11-time All-Star posted career lows across the board in Detroit last season, managing just three homers and 22 RBIs in 38 mostly forgettable games.

2019 National League MVP Odds

Top Contenders

  • [Oct 2] A sluggish finish brought Bellinger (-200) back to the pack a little. Yelich (+175) is still considered a potential winner despite missing the last month of the year.
  • [Sept 2] Bellinger’s NL MVP odds are the shortest they’ve been all season, as he’s listed at -325
  • [August 23] The Dodgers’ Cody Bellinger has become even bigger chalk, thanks in part to Yelich missing big chunks for time with back problems.
  • [August 2] Despite currently having more home runs as well as a better AVG, SLG, and OPS, Christian Yelich still trails Cody Bellinger in odds to win the NL MVP.
  • [July 9] NL hit king Ketel Marte has most valuable player odds for the first time all season. Is he a bona fide MVP candidate at +1800?
  • [March 4] The Phillies are banking on Harper rediscovering his MVP form from 2015. The Las Vegas native blasted a career-high 42 home runs that season and led the league in homers, runs, on base percentage, slugging percentage, OPS, and OPS+.

2019 NL MVP Odds at BetOnline

Player (Team) 2019 NL MVP Odds at BetOnline
Cody Bellinger (Dodgers) -200
Christian Yelich (Brewers) +175
Anthony Rendon (Nationals) +800
Ronald Acuna Jr (Braves) +1400

Odds taken October 2nd, 2019

NL MVP Odds for Previous Winners

Joey Votto is the third Canadian to win a Major League MVP Award. The two previous recipients were Justin Morneau (2006) and Larry Walker (1997), both of whom were born in British Columbia.

MLB MVP Winners by Position

AL MVP Winners by Position

Position Number of MVP Winners
Outfield 32
First Base 14
Pitcher 12
Shortstop 9
Catcher 8
Third Base 8
Second Base 5
Designated Hitter 1

It should come as no surprise, but outfielders have won the most American League MVP awards since 1931. Not only can three outfielders play at all times, but outfielders can also sneak in a little rest by DHing.

NL MVP Winners by Position

Position Number of MVP Winners
Outfield 33
First Base 15
Pitcher 10
Third Base 10
Catcher 8
Shortstop 7
Second Base 6

Just like in the American League, second baseman have won the fewest MVP awards. The only players to buck the trend are Frankie Firsch (1931), Jackie Robinson (1949), Joe Morgan (1975, 1976), Ryne Sandberg (1984), and Jeff Kent (2000).

MLB MVP Winners by Team

AL MVP Winners by Team

Team Number of MVP Winners
New York Yankees 20
Detroit Tigers 11
Oakland A’s 11
Boston Red Sox 11
Texas Rangers 6
Baltimore Orioles 5
Minnesota Twins 5
Los Angeles Angels 4
Chicago White Sox 4
Milwaukee Brewers 3
Cleveland Indians 2
Seattle Mariners 2
Toronto Blue Jays 2
Kansas City Royals 1
Houston Astros 1

New York has produced the most American League MVP winners since 1931. Yankees greats Yogi Berra and Mickey Mantle both won it three times, and recently retired Yankee Alex Rodriguez won it twice during his time in Gotham.

NL MVP Winners by Team

Team Number of MVP Winners
St. Louis Cardinals 17
San Francisco Giants 13
Cincinnati Reds 12
Los Angeles Dodgers 11
Chicago Cubs 9
Philadelphia Phillies 7
Pittsburgh Pirates 7
Atlanta Braves 6
Colorado Rockies 1
San Diego Padres 1
Houston Astros 1
Miami Marlins 1
Milwaukee Brewers 2
Washington Nationals 1

St. Louis had a stranglehold on the National League MVP award during the 1930’s and 40’s thanks to legendary players like Dizzy Dean, Joe Medwick, Stan Musial, and Mort Cooper. The last Cardinal to win the award was Albert Pujols, who won the honor in 2008 and 2009.

Archived Cy Young Odds: 2018

Author Image

Sascha has been a Number Cruncher, Editor, and Lead Oddsmaker for SBD for over four years, specializing in football, baseball, hockey, and basketball. He has been featured on USA Today's Draft Wire, Fansided, Chicago Tribune, Newsweek, and numerous additional local and national publications.