Upcoming Match-ups

IFPA Pinball – 2019 Stern Pro Circuit Championship Odds

Robert Duff

by Robert Duff in Entertainment

Updated May 14, 2020 · 3:20 PM PDT

Pinball machines
Anyone up for a game of pinball? Photo by Jason Cerna (Public Domain).
  • World No. 1 Raymond Davidson is favored to win the 2019 Stern Pro Circuit Pinball Championship
  • Davidson has won the last two IFPA World Pinball Championships
  • He also won 12 tournaments in 2018

You could say that Raymond Davidson plays a mean pinball. Just 26, he’s been hitting the bumpers for 11 years and currently reigns as the No. 1-ranked pinball player in the world.

YouTube video

A computer software programmer from Mukilteo, Washington, Davidson won the 2017 and 2018 International Flipper Pinball Association World Championships. No wonder that oddsmakers list Davidson as the chalk to capture the 2019 Stern Pro Circuit Championship.

2019 Stern Pro Circuit Pinball Title Odds

Who Will Win 2019 Stern Pro Circuit Pinball Title? Odds (02/19/19)
Raymond Davidson +175
Keith Elwin +200
Steven Bowden +400
Eric Stone +650
Trent Augenstein +900
Zach Sharpe +1200
Cayle George +1200
David Riel +1800
Jim Belsito +1800
Escher Lefkoff +2000
Robert Gagno +2000
Alberto Santana +6000
Josh Sharpe +6000
Aleksander Kaczmarczyk +6000
Adam Lefkoff +6000
Fred Richardson +7500
Jason Werdrick +7500
Colin Urban +7500
Karl DeAngelo +7500
Drew Cedolia +7500
Andy Rosa +7500
John Delzoppo +7500

Davidson captured the 2018 world title on Canadian soil in Keswick, Ontario. He became the ninth player to win back-to-back IFPA world championships.

How the Stern Pro Circuit Works

The IFPA Stern Pro Circuit consists of 20 events. Players compete in a ladder format similar to pro bowling and play down until one unbeaten player is left standing at the end of the tournament.

Points are earned at each stop on the circuit and after completion of the 20 events, the 40 top pinball players from 2018-19 qualify to play the in the inaugural Stern Pro Circuit Championship, beginning March 9th in Chicago.

Opening-round play seeds players into 10 groups of four players each, with the top two players advancing out of each group. They are seeded into five four-player groups in Round 2, again with the top two in each group advancing.

YouTube video

The remaining 10 players are placed in a ladder-style bracket, ranked based on their original seeding. The bottom four players compete in a single-game format, eliminating the lowest-scoring player, and then then next-lowest seed enters, with the same formula deployed.

This continues until there are just two players remaining, and they play a two-of-out-three match for the title.

Davidson is Pinball’s Dominant Player

Davidson took up pinball at the age of five and was soon beating his father. By the time he was 11, he was entering competitions. With 1153.93 points, he is the current IFPA Stern Pro Circuit leader.

His initial world title was earned in Denmark, but Davidson isn’t living a life of luxury off his pinball exploits. He won $1,000 for his each of his world title triumphs. He also received an arcade-quality pinball machine and a WWE-style championship belt for his efforts.

Other Stern Circuit Contenders

Keith Elwin is the only other player on the Stern circuit with more than 1000 points accumulated so far this season, sitting second to Davidson with 1004.82.

A pinball machine designer for Stern, Elwin, 46, is the most decorated player in pinball history. He has won a record 10 majors among the four Grand Slam events of pinball – IFPA World Championship, PAPA World Championships, European Championships, and Pinburgh Match Play Championship. He’s also 60-12 lifetime against Davidson.

YouTube video

Trent Augenstein (+900) finished third at the 2018 championships. Cayle George (+1200) was the 2011 IFPA world champ and lost the 2017 final to Davidson. Josh Sharpe (+6000) was the losing finalist in the 2016 world championship.

YouTube video

Zach Sharpe (+1200) is only ranked ninth, but his 86.37% winning percentage against the world’s top 250 players over the past three years is second only to Elwin (87.15%). Davidson (83.68%) ranks third in this category.

In the last two years, Davidson’s been the one to beat, though, and we don’t see anyone beating him.

Author Image