Upcoming Match-ups
  • Revisit the odds for the for the 148th edition of the Preakness Stakes after it ran on May 20th, 2023
  • National Treasure was the 2023 Preakness Stakes winner, followed by Blazing Sevens (2nd) and Mage (3rd)
  • Looking for current Preakness Stakes odds?

The 148th running of the Preakness Stakes took place at the historic Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore on Saturday, May 20, 2023.

We tracked the Preakness Stakes odds for every fleet-footed thoroughbred since they became available. The main graph on this page has been generated by calculating the average from our most trusted racebooks.

2023 Preakness Stakes Odds

Horse Odds
Mage +200
National Treasure +300
Blazing Stevens +450
Red Route One +600
Perform +700
Chase the Chaos +700
Coffeewithchris +800

Odds as of May 20, 2023.

Notes on the 2023 Preakness odds movement in the build-up to the race include:

  • [5/19/23] Second-favorite First Mission has been scratched from the Preakness after advice from the vet due to a hind ankle injury
  • [5/16/23] The field is down to eigth horses with Perform (+1500) and Coffeewithchris (+2000) being added to the field
  • [5/15/23] Derby winner Mage is the early favorite in the week leading up to the Preakness at +160 odds, followed by First Mission at +200.

Preakness Stakes Top Contenders

Preakness Stakes Post Position

Post Position Horse Jockey Trainer
1 National Treasure John Velazquez Bob Baffert
2 Chase The Chaos Sheldon Russell Ed Moger Jr
3 Mage Javier Castellano Gustavo Delgado
4 Coffeewithchris Jaime Rodriguez John Salzman Jr
5 Red Route One Red Route One Steve Asmussen
6 Perform Feargul Lynch Shug McGaughey
7 Blazing Stevens Irad Ortiz Jr Chad Brown
8 First Mission Luiz Saez Brad Cox

The Preakness Stakes post position draw took place on Monday evening, May 15.

The shortest distance to the finish line is post position 1 on the rail, which this year was drawn to National Treasure. It can be an advantage but also leave less space to maneuver.

For those betting on history, it’s worth knowing that historically, a horse in the 6 spot has won the most Preakness Stakes. Since 1909, 16 times has a horse won the Preakness from position 6. Horses drawn in the 4 and 7 spots have won a total of 14 times each.

Last year Early Voting won from post position 5.

Preakness Stakes Bets You Can Make

  • Win bet
  • Place bet
  • Show bet
  • Exacta
  • Trifecta
  • Superfecta

Win, Place & Show Preakness Stakes Bets

The three main types of horse racing bets you can make for the Preakness Stakes will be win, place and show bets.

A win bet is pretty straightforward. If you bet on a horse to win they need to finish in first place.

If you bet on a horse to place, the payout will be smaller, but they can finish in the top two.

A bet on a horse to show means they can come in either first, second or third.

Exacta, Trifecta & Superfecta Preakness Stakes Bets

The parlays of horse betting are the exotic bets that often include exactas. trifectas and superfectas.

In an exacta, you’re picking two horses that need to both finish in the top two in exact order.

A trifecta is picking three horses to finish in the top three in a certain order. And finally, a superfecta is picking four horses to finish in the top four in the correct order.

You are also able to “box” any of these options where they can finish in top two, three or four in any order.

Preakness Stakes Online Betting

If you’re looking to bet on the Preakness Stakes online luckily you have several options as many different racebooks will offer odds for this Triple Crown event.

Your best bets would be TVG, TwinSpires, and DRF Bets.

Here you will find odds for all of the week’s biggest races leading up to the Preakness Stakes. These horse racing betting sites will often offer special promotions leading up to the race during the week for new customers.

You’ll be able to check the morning line earlier in the week for Preakness Stakes odds. However, because of pari-mutuel wagering, you won’t find fixed odds to bet on and they will change based on the amount bet into the overall pool.

Preakness Stakes Trends to Keep in Mind:

  • 24 horses have won both the Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes
  • 13 horses have won the Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes, and Belmont Stakes
  • Since 2000, no horse had won the Preakness after finishing worse than sixth in the Kentucky Derby. That changed in 2019 when War of Will finished 7th in the Derby and won the Preakness. In 2021 Rombauer didn’t even run in the Derby.
  • Since 2000, seven horses have won the Preakness after winning the Kentucky Derby
  • Only one jockey has won back-to-back Preakness Stakes since 1997. That came in 2014 and 2015 when Victor Espinoza won with California Chrome and American Pharoah
  • A Bob Baffert-trained horse has only won two of the last eight Preakness Stakes
  • A winner in 2022 with Early Voting, trainer Chad Brown was a winner again for the first time since 2017.

Recent Preakness Stakes Winners

Year Horse Jockey Trainer Time
2022 Early Voting Jose L Ortiz Chad C Brown 1:54.54
2021 Rombauer Flavien Prat Michael W McCarthy 1:53.62
2020 Swiss Skydiver Robby Albarado Kenneth McPeek 1:53.28
2019 War of Will Tyler Gaffalione Mark E. Casse 1:54.34
2018 Justify Mike Smith Bob Baffert 1:55.93
2017 Cloud Computing Javier Castellano Chad Brown 1:55.98
2016 Exaggerator Kent Desormeaux J. Keith Desormeaux 1:58.31
2015 American Pharoah Victor Espinoza Bob Baffert 1:58.46
2014 California Chrome Victor Espinoza Art Sherman 1:54.84
2013 Oxbow Gary Stevens D. Wayne Lukas 1:57.54
2012 I’ll Have Another Mario Gutierrez Doug O’Neill 1:55.94
2011 Shackleford Jesus Castanon Dale Romans 1:56.47

Trainers with the Most Preakness Stakes Wins

Jockeys with the Most Preakness Stakes Wins