Upcoming Match-ups
  • Who are the top contenders for the 2020 NHL Vezina Trophy?
  • Look at odds for individual players, plus additional league and conference-specific trends from past years
  • Track, visualize, and interact with a player’s odds as they get longer and shorter throughout the 2019-20 NHL season

The Vezina Trophy is awarded at the conclusion of every season to the goaltender deemed to be the best at his position. In contrast to the Hart Trophy, NHL general managers are the sole voters on the Vezina Trophy.

We’ll be tracking odds available at a range of online sportsbook all year long, providing you with up to date coverage on how futures odds shift for different goaltenders around the league.

Odds For 2020 Vezina Trophy Favorites

  • Oct. 11: Frederik Andersen dropped from +550 to +800 after an ugly start (2-2, 3.75 GAA, .878 SV%). John Gibson (1.26 GAA, .961 SV%) improved from +2000 to +900.
  • Oct. 1: Carey Price continues to climb,  this time improving from +1500 to +1200.
  • Sep. 23: Andrei Vasilevskiy slipped form +550 to +600, while Carey Price and Connor Hellebuyck both improved from +2000 to +1500 in the early going.
  • Sep. 16: Frederik Andersen  and reigning champion Andrei Vasilevskiy have opened as co-favorites at +550.

Vezina Odds at MyBookie

Player Odds at MyBookie (Oct. 11, 2019)
Andrei Vasilevskiy (Lightning) +500
Ben Bishop (Stars) +750
Frederik Andersen (Maple Leafs) +800
Sergei Bobrovsky (Panthers) +800
John Gibson (Ducks) +900
Carey Price (Canadiens) +1000
Marc-Andre Fleury (Golden Knights) +1400
Jordan Binnington (Blues) +1600
Devan Dubnyk (Wilds) +1600
Braden Holtby (Capitals) +1600
Tuukka Rask (Bruins) +1800
Martin Jones (Sharks) +2000
Matt Murray (Penguins) +2500
Connor Hellebuyck (Jets) +2200

The Vezina Trophy is a perennially unpredictable award, perhaps more so than any other major award in the NHL. It’s hard to predict which goaltender is poised to have a heroic season, as goaltenders, more so than any other position in the NHL, are prone to large swings in their play from season to season.

More often than not, goalies who win the Vezina Trophy play in front of a competent defense corps, and an above-average playoff team.

The sole exception to this was in the lockout-shortened 2012-13 season when Sergei Bobrovsky won the Vezina despite the Blue Jackets failing to qualify for the postseason.

NHL Vezina Trophy Trends to Consider

  • Nine of the last 11 Vezina Trophy-winners came from the Eastern Conference (the Columbus Blue Jackets were in the Western Conference in 2012-2013, when Sergei Bobrovsky won).
  • It’s almost impossible for goalies to win the Vezina Trophy if their teams don’t make the playoffs. Again, this hasn’t happened since Sergei Bobrovsky in 2013 and only four times in this history of the league, and that was the only time its happened in modern NHL history.
  • Its essential for the Vezina winner to have a competent backupNo Vezina winner in the last 10 years has exceeded 69 games played. In today’s NHL, rest is a key factor to a goaltender being able to maintain a consistently high level of play, and in order for this to happen a team needs to be able to rely on their backup goaltender to win games.

2020 Vezina Trophy Odds for Players on Canadian Teams

Only three Canadian teams see their tenders in the top-15 to start the year: the Leafs’ Frederik Andersen, the Canadiens’ Carey Price, and the Jets’ Connor Hellebuyck.

2020 Vezina Trophy Odds for Previous Winners

Winning more than one Vezina trophy isn’t as rare as you might think, as six different players have done it since 1981 (the modern era), and two players, Tim Thomas and Sergei Bobrovsky, have accomplished this feat in the last 11 years.

2020 Vezina Trophy Odds for Western Conference Players

Only one of the last six Vezina winners (Pekka Rinne, 2018) has come from the West.

2020 Vezina Trophy Odds for Eastern Conference Players

As mentioned above, the majority of recent Vezina winners have come from the East, and the two early favorites for 2020 award are both from the Eastern Conference.

 Last 10 Vezina Trophy Winners

Year Player Games Played Record GAA Save Percentage Age
2018-2019 Andrei Vasilevskiy (Tampa Bay Lightning) 53 39-10-4 2.40 .925 24
2017-2018 Pekka Rinne (Nashville Predators) 59 42-13-4 2.31 .927 35
2016-2017 Sergei Bobrovsky (Columbus Blue Jackets) 63 41-17-5 2.06 .931 29
2015-2016 Braden Holtby (Washington Capitals) 66 48-9-7 2.20 .922 27
2014-2015 Carey Price (Montreal Canadiens) 66 44-16-6 1.96 .933 27
2013-2014 Tuukka Rask (Boston Bruins) 58 36-15-6 2.04 .930 27
2012-2013 Sergei Bobrovsky (Columbus Blue Jackets) 38 (Lockout-Shortened Season) 21-11-6 2.00 .932 25
2011-2012 Henrik Lundqvist (New York Rangers) 62 39-18-5 1.97 .930 30
2010-2011 Tim Thomas (Boston Bruins) 57 35-11-9 2.00 .938 38
2009-2010 Ryan Miller (Buffalo Sabres) 69 41-18-8 2.22 .929 30

The median age of Vezina Trophy winners in the last ten years is just under 30. The youngest winner over the previous ten years is reigning champion Andrei Vasilevskiy, who was only 24 when he won the Vezina in 2019.


 Players with Multiple Vezina Trophies Since 1981 (Modern Era)

Player Vezina Trophies Years
Dominik Hasek (Buffalo Sabres) 6 1993-1994, 1994-1995, 1996-1997, 1997-1998, 1998-1999, 2000-2001
Martin Brodeur (New Jersey Devils) 4 2002-2003, 2003-2004, 2006-2007, 2007-2008
Patrick Roy (Montreal Canadiens, Colorado Avalanche) 3 1988-1989, 1989-1990, 1991-1992
Tim Thomas (Boston Bruins) 2 2008-2009, 2010-2011
Sergei Bobrovsky (Columbus Blue Jackets) 2 2016-2017
Ed Belfour (Chicago Blackhawks) 2 1990-1991, 1992-1993,

From 1946 to 1981, the Vezina Trophy was awarded to the team that allowed the lowest number of goals throughout a full NHL season. As such, the goaltender who played the most games for that team took home the Vezina Trophy. Consequently, the Vezina was regarded as more of a team award than an individual award,

After 1981, the criteria for the award changed. Now, NHL general managers vote on who they believe to be the league’s most dominant goaltender at the conclusion of every season.