Upcoming Match-ups
  • Take a look back at the odds for the 2019 Australian Open, and see how they changed throughout the year
  • View the odds for past Australian Open champions
  • Looking for current Australian Open odds?

Jan. 28, 2019: The Australian Open is now in the books, and the 107th edition of this historic tournament certainly didn’t disappoint. Novak Djokovic won the Men’s Singles championship for the seventh time, beating Rafael Nadal in straight sets 6-2, 6-3, 6-2. Nadal made 28 unforced errors as he fell to Djokovic for the 13th time over their past 16 encounters.

Naomi Osaka came out on top on the women’s side, defeating Petra Kvitova to win her first Aussie Open title and her second Grand Slam event in a row. It was an impressive performance for a player who was ranked 72nd a year ago and was a +2500 longshot when odds were first released.

Take a look at the graphs below to see how the odds for all the top contenders ebbed and flowed before and during the 2019 Australian Open.

Men’s Singles Top Contenders

The original list of men’s favorites is pretty unimaginative, only four active players have won the tournament and only seven have made the final.

But Stefanos Tsitsipas and Lucas Pouille will look to change that, as the two longshots have booked a spot in the Semi Finals.

2019 AO Men’s Singles Odds

Player Odds
Novak Djokovic -130
Rafael Nadal +110

*All odds taken 01/25/19

Drawing Novak Djokovic in the semifinals leaves Pouille as a bit of a longshot to win the Australian Open, and sportsbooks aren’t feeling great about Tsitsipas’ chances against Rafael Nadal, either.
World no. 5 Juan Martin del Potro was forced to withdraw from the 2019 Australian Open due to a knee injury he suffered during the Shanghai Masters.

Roger Federer was looking to win the tournament for a third consecutive year, but fell in the Round of 16, as did world no. 4 Alexander Zverev.

All eyes will be on Novak Djokovic to see if the 31-year-old can maintain momentum after finishing the year with wins at Wimbledon and the US Open. Thus far, he has not disappointed, as he hasn’t needed to play a fifth set yet and dominated Kei Nishikori in the Quarter Finals.

Past Men’s Champions

Year Champion Country
2018 Roger Federer Switzerland
2017 Roger Federer Switzerland
2016 Novak Djokovic Serbia
2015 Novak Djokovic Serbia
2014 Stan Wawrinka Switzerland
2013 Novak Djokovic Serbia
2012 Novak Djokovic Serbia
2011 Novak Djokovic Serbia
2010 Roger Federer Switzerland
2009 Rafael Nadal Spain

Roger Federer and Novak Djokovic are tied with Australian tennis legend Roy Emerson for the most Australian Open Men’s Singles Championships. All three players have six titles each.

AO Men’s Champions by Country

It will be quite some time before any other country can equal Australia’s 50 Australian Open Men’s Singles Championships.

Women’s Singles Top Contenders

Serena Williams remained the favorite to win the Australian Open until she was defeated by Karolina Pliskova in the Quarter Finals.

Like on the men’s side, there remains one longshot in the tournament: Danielle Collins.

2019 AO Women’s Singles Odds

Player Odds
Petra Kvitova -130
Naomi Osaka +110

*Odds taken 1/24

Collins will have to deal with Petra Kvitova in the semifinals, while Naomi Osaka and Pliskova battle for a spot in the Finals.

Osaka, the world’s no. 4, is the only woman left standing from the top five ranked players entering the tournament.

Caroline Wozniacki suffered the earliest defeat, falling in the Third Round to Maria Sharapova. Simona Halep, Angelique Kerber, and Sloane Stephens all bowed out in the Round of 16.

Williams won this tournament in 2017, but was unable to defend that title last year, pulling out of the event after still recovering from her first pregnancy.

And she’ll have to wait until 2020 to claim another Australian Open title.

Past Women’s Champions

Year Champion Country
2018 Caroline Wozniacki Denmark
2017 Serena Williams United States
2016 Angelique Kerber Germany
2015 Serena Williams United States
2014 Li Na China
2013 Victoria Azarenka Belarus
2012 Victoria Azarenka Belarus
2011 Kim Clijsters Belgium
2010 Serena Williams United States
2009 Serena Williams United States

Serena Williams has a ways to go before catching up with Margaret Smith Court. The Aussie tennis legend won 11 Australian Open Women’s Singles Championships from 1960 to 1973.

AO Women’s Champions by Country

Australians have won 43 Australian Open Women’s Singles Championships, but they haven’t claimed top honors lately. The last homegrown Aussie Open title-holder was Chris O’Neil, who won it all in 1978.

Author Image

Ryan is SBD's resident soccer pro, though his repertoire is by no means limited to a single sport. His articles have been published by the Canadian Hockey League (CHL), Ontario Hockey League (OHL), and the Kitchener Rangers, and outlets like SportsXpress and Shredthespread.com