Upcoming Match-ups
  • See the odds for the top men and women at the 2021 Australian Open
  • Djokovic opened as favorite to repeat on the men’s side, while Kenin is not favored to repeat on the women’s; instead, it’s Canadian Bianca Andreescu
  • Discover which country has produced the most Australian Open champions since the tournament’s inception

The 2021 Australian Open returns to Melbourne Park from January 18-31, 2021. We’ve been tracking the odds for all of the top contenders since they became available and have charted them on this page. The graphs below are generated by calculating the average from a selection of sportsbooks.

Men’s Singles Top Contenders

  • [2/21/20] Novak Djokovic is the early favorite to win the Aussie Open for the third straight time

2021 AO Men’s Singles Odds

Player Odds
Novak Djokovic +100
Daniil Medvedev +600
Dominic Thiem +600
Rafael Nadal +600
Roger Federer +600
Stefanos Tsitsipas +1200
Alexander Zverev +2000
Denis Shapovalov +3300
Andrey Rublev +4000
Stan Wawrinka +4000

All odds taken Apr. 16

Odds for ATP Top 5 Men’s Singles Players

The top five ranked players on the ATP Tour are also all the top five players favored right now to win in 2021. Those being: Djokovic, Medvedev, Thiem, Nadal and Federer.

Odds for Past Men’s Singles Winners

Another year, another win for Djoker. He’s now won back-to-back Aussie Opens and four of the past six. In 2020 he defeated Dominic Thiem 6-4 6-4 6-2 6-3 6-4.

Past Men’s Champions

Year Champion Country
2020 Novak Djokovic Serbia
2019 Novak Djokovic Serbia
2018 Roger Federer Switzerland
2017 Roger Federer Switzerland
2016 Novak Djokovic Serbia
2015 Novak Djokovic Serbia
2014 Stan Wawrinka Switzerland
2013 Novak Djokovic Serbia
2012 Novak Djokovic Serbia
2011 Novak Djokovic Serbia
2010 Roger Federer Switzerland

AO Men’s Champions by Country

With Djokovic’s win last year, he now brings Serbia into sole position with the third-most wins (8) by any country in the Australian Open.

Women’s Singles Top Contenders

  • [2/21/20] Despite being injured in the early portion of 2020, Canadian Bianca Andreescu is the early favorite to win the 2021 Aussie Open

2021 AO Women’s Singles Odds

Player Odds
Bianca Andreescu +700
Ashleigh Barty +800
Serena Williams +800
Naomi Osaka +900
Simona Halep +1000
Sofia Kenin +1000
Garbine Murguruza +1200
Elina Svitolina +1600
Karolina Pliskova +1600
Petra Kvitova +1600

Odds for WTA Top 5 Women’s Singles Players

Kenin vaulted into the WTA Top 5 after her Aussie Open win, now her highest ranking (4th) in her career. She defeated Muguruza 4-6 6-2 6-2 in last year’s final.

Odds for Past Women’s Singles Winners

Osaka cooled off after her 2019 win but still has the fourth-best odds to win in 2021. Her odds in April are 9-1.

Past Women’s Champions

Year Champion Country
2020 Sofia Kenin United States
2019 Naomi Osaka Japan
2018 Caroline Wozniacki Denmark
2017 Serena Williams United States
2016 Angelique Kerber Germany
2015 Serena Williams United States
2014 Li Na China
2013 Victoria Azarenka Belarus
2012 Victoria Azarenka Belarus
2011 Kim Clijsters Belgium
2010 Serena Williams United States

Serena Williams has a ways to go before catching up with Margaret Smith Court. The Aussie tennis legend won 11 Australian Open Women’s Singles Championships from 1960 to 1973. Williams currently has seven titles.

AO Women’s Champions by Country

Australians have won 43 Australian Open Women’s Singles Championships, but they haven’t claimed top honors lately. The last homegrown Aussie Open title-holder was Chris O’Neil, who won it all in 1978. Kenin became the youngest American since Serena Williams in 2002 to win a grand slam.

Archived Australian Open Odds: 2020, 2019

Author Image

Ryan is SBD's resident soccer pro, though his repertoire is by no means limited to a single sport. His articles have been published by the Canadian Hockey League (CHL), Ontario Hockey League (OHL), and the Kitchener Rangers, and outlets like SportsXpress and Shredthespread.com