Upcoming Match-ups
  • Super Bowl Championships: 6
  • Last Super Bowl Championship: Super Bowl 53
  • Claim to Fame: The Patriots have won six Super Bowls in the last 18 seasons
  • Claim to Shame: The Patriots are tied with the Denver Broncos for most Super Bowl losses all-time

There are two eras in New England history: pre-Tom Brady and the glorious present. The Patriots enjoyed modest success before 2000, but nothing like today. After switching from Boston to New England in 1971, it took 15 years to make their first Super Bowl (20).

But that Super Bowl is mostly remembered for The Fridge’s epic touchdown.

Then, 16 seasons later, Mo Lewis changed everything. In 2001, Lewis sidelined then-starting QB Drew Bledsoe and opened the door for Brady. Outside of the AFC Championship game that season (with one year of Matt Cassel and four games of Jimmy Garoppolo and Jacoby Brissett), it’s been Brady’s bunch.

Brady has won six titles as the team’s starter. Only four teams have five or more championships. He’s also lost ten playoff games, which is more than nine teams have won.

Brady continues to prove that age is just a number, coming away with his third MVP award in 2017 and another Super Bowl MVP in 2018-19.

The 2019 season will be a little different for Brady, though, as Rob Gronkowski has retired. But with second-year standout Sony Michel in the backfield, plus Josh Gordon reinstated from suspension, and rookies N’Keal Harry and Jakobi Meyers joining the mix, the skill positions will be just fine.

The 2019 defense also looks like it will be one of the strongest the team has had in years, especially if Chase Winovich is an impact rookie.

See More