Upcoming Match-ups

Tom Brady Nearly Even Money to Win Super Bowl 53 MVP

Tom Brady New England Patriots QB throwing the ball
Tom Brady will be seeking his fifth Super Bowl MVP when the Patriots take on the Rams in Super Bowl 53. (Photo by Scott Winters/Icon Sportswire)
  • Books list the Patriots QB Tom Brady as overwhelming favorite to be Super Bowl 53 MVP
  • Brady is the only player to win four Super Bowl MVP awards
  • Quarterbacks have won seven of the last nine Super Bowl MVPs

Is Tom about to add to his Brady bunch of Super Bowl MVP awards? Some books certainly think so.

Sportsbooks have established Brady as the prohibitive favorite to capture MVP honors when the quarterback leads the New England Patriots into Super Bowl 53 against the Los Angeles Rams.

Odds to Be Named Super Bowl 53 MVP

Player Team Odds
Tom Brady NE +110
Jared Goff LAR +225
Todd Gurley LAR +1200
Sony Michel NE +1600
CJ Anderson LAR +2000
Aaron Donald LAR +2000
James White NE +2000
Julian Edelman NE +2500
Rob Gronkowski NE +3500
Brandin Cooks LAR +4000
Robert Woods LAR +5000
Rex Burkhead NE +6600
Aqib Talib LAR +6600
Dante Fowler Jr LAR +6600
Josh Reynolds LAR +6600

*Follow link for complete list.
Brady has won a record four Super Bowl MVP awards, including after Super Bowl 36, when he led the Patriots to a 20-17 victory over the St. Louis Rams.

When these odds opened, you could have had Brady at +700 to win Super Bowl MVP.

QB or Not QB?

When it comes to the Super Bowl MVP, the quarterback is historically the center of attention. The winning QB was the MVP of the first four and five of the first six Super Bowls.

The only winners of back-to-back Super Bowl MVP awards – Green Bay’s Bart Starr (Super Bowls 1 and 2) and Pittsburgh’s Terry Bradshaw (Super Bowls 13 and 14) – were quarterbacks.

But as with most everything else in his career, Brady is the GOAT of Super Bowl MVPs as well.

His four wins are the record, one ahead of San Francisco’s Joe Montana and two better than Bradshaw, Starr and QB Eli Manning of the New York Giants, who won both of his Super Bowl MVPS by beating Brady and the Patriots in the big game.

Lately, quarterbacks have continued their Super Bowl MVP dominance, capturing seven of the last nine MVP awards. The MVP in all three of Brady’s Super Bowl losses was the opposing QB, with Philadelphia’s Nick Foles winning it last year.

Overall, QBs have been named Super Bowl MVP 29 times in 52 games. Running back (seven) is a distant second.

If Not Brady, Then Who?

Quick, without cheating, name the only position other than quarterback to earn a Super Bowl MVP award in the last nine Super Bowls?

Did you guess linebacker? Denver’s Von Miller (Super Bowl 50) and Seattle’s Malcolm Smith (Super Bowl 48) were the only players to break through the QB stranglehold.

So perhaps you want to consider Dante Fowler Jr of the Rams at +6600.

New England’s other Super Bowl MVP with Brady at the helm was wide receiver Deion Branch in Super Bowl 39.

No tight end has ever been Super Bowl MVP (sorry Gronk).

Just one DT has been Super Bowl MVP. That doesn’t bode well for LA’s Aaron Donald (+2000).

Basically, this award is Brady’s to win. But if New England doesn’t win, history tells us the MVP will be Rams QB Jared Goff (+225).

Author Image

Let's have fun and keep it civil.