Upcoming Match-ups
  • See the most recent NFL CPOY odds
  • Bills Damar Hamlin is the favorite to win 2023-24 NFL Comeback Player of the Year
  • Track how the NFL CPOY odds have changed over the course of the 2023-24 NFL season

The NFL Comeback Player of the Year award has been handed out consistently since 1998. The AP did hand out an award from 1963-1966, but awarded one to the AFL and one to the NFL. The award often goes to a player who has returned from some serious injury and performed well.

The 2023-24 NFL Comeback Player of the Year odds opened in mid-February. You can see the latest NFL CPOY odds below as well as how the odds have changed throughout the 2023-24 NFL season.

NFL Comeback Player of the Year Odds

Bills safety Damar Hamlin is the favorite to win NFL Comeback Player of the Year for the 2023-24 NFL season, and has been the favorite since opening.

Hamlin is returning from an incredibly scary incident last season that saw his heart stop on the field. The Bills defender needed to be revived on the field and the rest of the game was canceled following the injury. Joe Flacco, Baker Mayfield, Matthew Stafford, and Tua Tagovailoa round out the top five contenders.

The NFL Comeback Player of the Year finalists have now been announced: Damar Hamlin, Joe Flacco, Baker Mayfield, Tua Tagovailoa, and Matthew Stafford.

football Icon

Odds to Win NFL CPOY

**No sportsbooks have reopened odds for NFL CPOY after Week 18, which is too bad since this has arguably been the most intriguing season for the award.

Damar Hamlin is currently listed as the odds-on favorite to win the 2023-24 NFL Comeback Player of the Year. The Bills’ safety is given -140 odds to win the award after an extremely scary incident last season, where his heart stopped on the field. If you bet $20 on Hamlin to win NFL CPOY, you would stand to win $14.28 and return $34.28.

Next up on the board is Browns quarterback Joe Flacco, who has come out of nowhere to save the Browns’ season.

Odds above are updated every few hours from top online sportsbooks, including FanDuel, DraftKings, BetMGM, and more; if you’re not already signed up at DraftKings, check out the best DraftKings Sportsbook promos before registering.

Here are some notes on the NFL Comeback Player of the Year odds movement:

  • [January 25] Damar Hamlin, Joe Flacco, Baker Mayfield, Tua Tagovailoa, and Matthew Stafford have been named the NFL CPOY finalists by the AP.
  • [November 14] Damar Hamlin’s odds improved after the Bills safety got his first snaps of the season in Week 10. Hamlin went from -110 to -200.
  • [November 6] After being forced into action in Week 9 with no practice as a Viking, Josh Dobbs led Minnesota to a huge win over the Falcons. Dobbs had only been with the team for a handful of days after the Cardinals traded the QB to Minnesota at the deadline. The new Vikings QB saw his NFL CPOY odds improve from +10000 to +800, the third-best odds, after Week 9.
  • [September 18] After being inactive for a second straight week, Damar Hamlin’s NFL CPOY odds continue to fade, this time to -115. Tua Tagovailoa’s odds have now gone from +800 to +250 after picking up a Week 2 win in New England.
  • [September 11] Damar Hamlin has gone from -285 to -200 odds to win NFL Comeback Player of the Year after it was announced he would not be active for the Bills’ Week 1 game against the Jets. Tua Tagovailoa saw his odds improve from +2000 to +800 after torching the Chargers defense. Calvin Ridley also saw his odds improve, going from +3500 to +1000, after posting more than 100 receiving yards and a touchdown against the Colts. Be careful with Ridley, though. I’m not sold on the NFL handing this award to someone who missed last season due to suspension (gambling).
  • [June 5] With Hamlin participating in offseason workouts, the safety takes another giant step towards returning to the field. Hamlin’s CPOY odds have improved to -500, making him an overwhelming favorite to win the award. This is the heaviest favorite I can recall at this point of the season for any player award.
  • [February 24] Bills safety Damar Hamlin has opened as the favorite to win NFL Comeback Player of the Year in 2023-24.

NFL Comeback Player of the Year Trends

  • A quarterback has won the NFL Comeback Player of the Year award in each of the last five seasons
  • Eight of the last nine NFL CPOY winners missed at least five games due to injury the prior season—last year, Geno Smith joined Philip Rivers as the only players since 2013 to win it without getting hurt the year prior
  • No defensive player has won the award since Eric Berry in 2015
  • Since the award came back in 1998, we have seen 16 quarterbacks win, three wide receivers, five defensive players, one running back, and one tight end
  • The NFL CPOY award was shared in 2005, when Tedy Bruschi and Steve Smith Sr. were both named NFL CPOY

Past NFL Comeback Player of the Year Winners

Year NFL CPOY Winner
2022 Geno Smith (Seahawks)
2021 Joe Burrow (Bengals)
2020 Alex Smith (Washington)
2019 Ryan Tannheill (Titans)
2018 Andrew Luck (Colts)
2017 Keenan Allen (Chargers)
2016 Jordy Nelson (Packers)
2015 Eric Berry (Chiefs)
2014 Rob Gronkowski (Patriots)
2013 Philip Rivers (Chargers)

Geno Smith won the NFL CPOY last season after earning his first starting job since 2014. Smith led the Seahawks to the playoffs with a 9-8 record while leading the NFL in completion percentage.

Archived NFL CPOY odds: 2023

Author Image

After working in TV, Matt turned his focus towards numbers, specifically odds. He has been with us since 2016 and serves as SBD's Editor-in-Chief, credited with creating our futures trackers, SBD's score predictor, SBD Sharp, and his own model for calculating NFL SOS, among other products.