Upcoming Match-ups
  • Who are the top contenders for the 2019 NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year award?
  • See the odds for all contenders to win the award
  • Compare players to others at their position or those who were selected around the same spot in the draft

Follow along as we track the odds to win the 2019 NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year award. The graphs below were created by taking the average odds from several of our most trusted online sports betting sites.

Top NFL DROY Contenders

  • [September 11] After a strong performance in Week 1, Ed Oliver has jumped into the top four contenders for DROY
  • [September 5] Josh Allen’s odds improved from +1400 to +850 thanks to an impressive preseason
  • [August 16] Nick Bosa is no longer the favorite to win DROY, as he’s seen both Devin White and Devin Bush surpass him in average odds
  • [July 19] Four of the top five contenders who play off the edge saw their odds improve slightly, while Clelin Ferrell saw no movement
  • [July 10] Devin Bush’s odds got a lot shorter, moving from an average of +1300 to +750, and he’s now a top three contender for DROY
  • [June 18] Devin White has continued his ascent up the DROY odds, moving into the top-three favorites at +700, on average
  • [May 7] Devin White and Devin Bush, the top two ILBs selected in the draft, have both seen their odds get significantly shorter, while Ed Oliver saw his odds plummet from an average of +800 to +1200
  • [May 1] 31 players have now been given odds to win 2019 NFL DROY, which is already more than last year
  • [April 29] Nick Bosa has opened as the 2019 DROY favorite after being selected second overall by the San Francisco 49ers

Bovada’s 2019 NFL DROY Odds

Player Team Pos Drafted Odds at Bovada
Devin Bush PIT ILB 10th Overall +480
Nick Bosa SF EDGE 2nd Overall +550
Devin White PIT ILB 5th Overall +700
Ed Oliver BUF DT 9th Overall +900
Josh Allen JAX EDGE 7th Overall +950

*Odds taken September 11; Follow the link in the table to see all available options

Seven of the first ten picks in the 2019 NFL Draft were defensive players, and 18 of the 32 players selected in the first round were defenders.

Top Contenders at Each Position

  • Two of the last four DROY awards went to CBs
  • An EDGE player has not won the award since Von Miller in 2011
  • The award has only gone to a safety twice – the last was in 1990 (Mark Carrier)

Past NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year Winners by Position

Position DROY Awards in Last 15 Years
Edge Players 3
Inside Linebackers 7
Interior Defensive Linemen 3
Defensive Backs 2

Top Contenders by Draft Round

  • 11 of the last 12 DROY awards went to first round picks (Darius Leonard won as a second round pick in 2018)
  • Ten of the last 12 winners were selected in the top 15 of their draft – Marcus Peters went 18th overall, Leonard was 36th
  • The first defender off the board has only won DROY once in the last seven years (Joey Bosa in 2016)

Archived DROY Odds: 2018

Author Image

After receiving a bachelor's degree in communications from the University of Ottawa ('15), Matt spent two years with Rogers TV as a host, producer, and play-by-play commentator. He has been with us since 2016 and serves as SBD's Editor-in-Chief and sports betting expert.