Upcoming Match-ups
There is no data for this sport.
  • View the odds available for all rookies individually, or in comparison to similar players
  • Track how the Offensive Rookie of the Year odds fluctuate throughout the 2018 NFL season
  • Saquon Barkley has been named 2018 NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year

The 2018 NFL Draft was one of the most highly-anticipated drafts in recent memory, and it certainly lived up to the hype.

We’ve got a battle between the first and second overall pick this season, with a winner being announced Saturday, February 2nd at the 2019 NFL Honors, scheduled to start at 9pm EST.

See how Baker Mayfield and Saquon Barkley’s (along with all other contenders) odds to win Offensive Rookie of the Year fluctuated this season at our most trusted betting sites all season.

Top NFL OROY Contenders

*During the NFL regular season, most online sports betting sites don’t open their NFL OROY odds until Wednesday morning, and they close again when the Thursday night game kicks off. So your window to make a wager is rather tight.

Considering he is set to be a workhorse in New York from Day 1, second-overall pick Saquon Barkley opens with the shortest odds to win the 2018 NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year Award.

Odds to Win 2018 NFL OROY at BetOnline

Player Pos Team Odds to win 2018 NFL OROY at BetOnline (01/21/19)
Saquon Barkley RB NYG -220
Baker Mayfield QB CLE +175

*Follow the link in the table for more options

  • (02/02/19) Saquon Barkley has been named 2018 NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year
  • (01/21/19) Money continues coming in on Barkley, making him again the heavy favorite
  • (01/07/19) Barkley and Mayfield have flip-flopped again, in spite of neither playing Wild Card Weekend
  • (12/26/18) Mayfield has overtaken Barkley as the OROY favorite entering Week 17
  • (12/19/18) A win in Denver over the Broncos in Week 15 has lifted Mayfield’s odds; but he still trails Barkley by a wide margin
  • (12/12/18) Saquon Barkley appears to have the award wrapped up as a heavy -850 favorite
  • (11/07/18) How much have rookie QBs struggled this season? Enough that an offensive lineman is now receiving odds to win OROY …
  • (10/31/18) With the rookie QBs struggling, Saquon Barkley has established himself as the clear cut favorite for OROY with -260 average odds.
  • (8/22/18) Sam Darnold’s average odds to win 2018 OROY go from +1500 to +590 after two strong preseason games to start his NFL career.

Offensive Rookie of the Year Trends

Here are some recent trends to know before betting on the award:

  • Dak Prescott (2016) is the only QB to win the award in the last five years
  • RBs have won the award in three of the last five seasons
  • The last time five QBs were drafted in the first-round (1999), a RB won OROY – Edgerrin James
  • The last time a RB was selected with the top two picks (2006), a QB won OROY – Vince Young
  • Since 2006, only one RB drafted in the top 7 picks has won OROY – Adrian Peterson in 2007

Top Contenders at Each Position

In spite of TE Hayden Hurst being drafted by the Baltimore Ravens in the first-round of the 2018 NFL Draft, it’s fitting that odds are not available for him since no position other than quarterback, running back, or wide receiver has ever won Offensive Rookie of the Year.

  • Dan Marino is the only QB to win OROY with less than 12 starts in his rookie season
  • The OROY award has not gone to a running back in consecutive years since 2001-2002
Position No. of NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year Award Winners
Quarterback 9
Running Back 33
Wide Receiver 9

Top Contenders in Each Division

One crazy trend to consider here: the NFC has won 11 straight NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year Awards. The last time the AFC won it was Vince Young (Tennessee) in 2006. Here are the franchises with the most OROY award winners.

Team Number of OROY Award Winners
Minnesota Vikings 5
Dallas Cowboys 4
Detroit Lions 4
Houston Oilers/Tennessee Titans 3
Los Angeles/St Louis Rams 3
New England Patriots 3
New Orleans Saints 3
Pittsburgh Steelers 3

On the other hand, there are nine teams who have never had an Offensive Rookie of the Year Award winner:

Teams Without an Offensive Rookie of the Year Award Winner
Baltimore Ravens
Cleveland Browns
Houston Texans
Jacksonville Jaguars
Kansas City Chiefs
New York Jets
Philadelphia Eagles
San Francisco 49ers
Seattle Seahawks

Top Contenders by Draft Round

Among the 51 Offensive Rookie of the Year award winners, 36 of them were drafted in the first-round of the NFL Draft, and 44 of them were drafted in the first two rounds. Mike Anderson (RB) of the Denver Broncos is the player selected latest in the draft to win the honors – Anderson was selected 189th overall in 2000.

  • Seven of the nine QBs to win the award were drafted in the first-round
  • 23 of the 33 RBs to win the award were drafted in the first-round
  • Six of the nine WRs to win OROY were drafted in the first-round – Anquan Boldin in 2003 was the last non-first-round WR to win the award

Here are the 15 players selected outside of the first-round who have won the award:

Player Position Draft Pos. Draft Year
Dennis Shaw QB 2nd-rd (30th overall) 1970
Sammy White WR 2nd-rd (54th overall) 1976
Carl Pickens WR 2nd-rd (31st overall) 1992
Anthony Thomas RB 2nd-rd (38th overall) 2001
Clinton Portis RB 2nd-rd (51st overall) 2002
Anquan Boldin WR 2nd-rd (54th overall) 2003
Eddie Lacy RB 2nd-rd (61st overall) 2013
Rueben Mayes RB 3rd-rd (57th overall) 1986
Curtis Martin RB 3rd-rd (74th overall) 1995
Alvin Kamara RB 3rd-rd (67th overall) 2017
Troy Stradford RB 4th-rd (99th overall) 1987
Dak Prescott QB 4th-rd (135th overall) 2016
Mike Thomas RB 5th-rd (108th overall) 1975
Don Woods RB 6th-rd (134th overall) 1974
Mike Anderson RB 6th-rd (189th overall) 2000

Looking forĀ 2018 NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year Odds?

Author Image

After receiving a bachelor's degree in communications, Matt spent two years with Rogers TV as a host, producer, and play-by-play commentator. He has been with us since 2016 and serves as SBD's editor-in-chief and sports betting expert.