Upcoming Match-ups
  • Which rookies are expected to challenge for the Calder Trophy in 2020?
  • It’s a close race between Cale Makar (-130) and Quinn Hughes (+100) to win the Calder
  • Track which players trending up and which are trending down over the course of the 2019-20 NHL campaign

The 2019-20 season is, like most in recent memory, filled with promising rookies. The top-two picks in the 2019 draft (Jack Hughes and Kaapo Kakko) are joined by a fleet of slightly older players who have developed into blue-chip prospects (Cale Makar, Alex Texier, etc.)

In the graphs below, find the odds for all of the top rookies to capture the 2020 Calder Trophy, and track how they fluctuate over the course of the season, as players either exceed or fall short of expectations.

Odds for 2020 Calder Trophy: Top Contenders

  • Mar. 2: Maker (-130) has dropped further over the last month. Quinn Hughes is now nearly tied with the preseason favorite at +100.
  • Feb. 3: Injuries to Makar opened the door for Hughes to close the gap, and he’s done just that, taking over the rookie scoring lead in the last couple weeks.
  • Jan. 3: Cale Makar is leaving the field in his dust, improving to -237 in the latest update, despite missing eight games due to injury.
  • Dec. 2: Vancouver D-man Quinn Hughes has moved up to second behind Cale Maker, meaning the Calder is likely to go to a defenseman for the first time since 2015 (Aaron Ekblad).
  • Nov. 4: Cale Makar is the new favorite (+240); the Avs defenseman is tied for the rookie scoring lead while playing 19 minutes per night.
  • Oct. 11: Some surprise here: Hughes’ odds got shorter (+230 to +200) even though he’s point-less in four games and a -3 for the winless Devils.
  • Oct. 1: No surprise here: Jack Hughes (+230) and Kaapo Kakko (+240), the #1 and #2 picks from the last draft, have opened as favorites.

Calder Trophy Odds

Player Odds
Cale Makar (Avalanche) -130
Quinn Hughes (Canucks) +100
Dominik Kubalik (Blackhawks) +5000

Looking for the latest NHL odds? – Get current moneyline odds, puck lines, and totals for all upcoming games today here.

Notable Calder Trophy Trends

  • A forward has won the award in eight of the last nine years, with defenseman Aaron Ekblad (2015, Florida) the only non-forward to win
  • Three of the last four winners were at least 20 years of age or older, meaning they were drafted at least one year earlier.
  • No goalies have won the Calder since Steve Mason (Columbus) in 2009.
  • No team has produced back-to-back Rookies of the Year since the 68-69 Bruins (Bobby Orr & Derek Sanderson). The Canucks’ Elias Pettersson won in 2019. (Bad news for Quinn Hughes?)

Past Calder Trophy Winner

Year Winner
2019 Elias Pettersson (F, Canucks)
2018 Mathew Barzal (F, Islander)
2017 Auston Matthews (F, Leafs)
2016 Artemi Panarin (F, Blackhawks)
2015 Aaron Ekblad (D, Panthers)
2014 Nathan MacKinnon (F, Avalanche)
2013 Jonathan Huberdeau (F, Panthers)
2012 Gabriel Landeskog (F, Avalanche)
2011 Jeff Skinner (F, Hurricanes)
2010 Tyler Myers (D, Sabres)

Looking for more NHL Awards odds?