Upcoming Match-ups
  • Which sniper is going to lead the NHL in goals this season?
  • Auston Matthews is the odds-on favorite to win the 2021 Rocket Richard Trophy
  • Track the Richard Trophy futures from opening night right up to the start of the playoffs

The graphs below set out the odds to win the 2021 Rocket Richard Trophy at leading sportsbooks, from the preseason onward.

Odds for Top Rocket Richard Trophy Contenders

  • [May 21]: Auston Matthews has won the Rocket Richard trophy as he led the NHL in goals with 41 goals in 52 games. Matthews opened as the favorite at +500, with Ovechkin at his tail early on at +600 odds. This is Matthews’ first Rocket Richard trophy win.
  • [Apr 5]: 9-time Rocket Richard winner, Alexander Ovechkin, has entered the race for the 2021 trophy as we near closer to the end of the season. Ovechkin’s odds have shortened from +3750 to +625. Ovechkin has 19 goals this season, which is six behind Matthews’ league leading 25.
  • [Mar 17]: Mikko Rantanen has been steadily climbing up the odds to win the Rocket Richard trophy. Rantanen’s average odds have shortened from +3900 to +1900.
  • [Feb 24]: Auston Matthews is now the odds-on favorite to win the Rocket Richard Trophy. Matthews’ average odds have shrunk from +225 to -159 as he boasts 18 goals through 19 games.
  • [Feb 8]: Tyler Toffoli’s odds have shortened to +1300 after starting the season with nine goals in 12 GP. Eight of Toffoli’s goals have come against the Vancouver Canucks, which is his former team.
  • [Jan 26]: Tied for the league-lead in goals (5), Mikko Rantanen’s average odds have shortened from +3733 to +1950.
  • [Jan 7]: With under a week before the 2021 NHL season starts, Auston Matthews has emerged as the new favorite at +400 average odds
  • [Dec 15]: Alex Ovechkin opens as a +500 favorite to win the 2021 Maurice Richard Trophy. Last year’s co-winner with Ovechkin, David Pastrnak, finds himself at +900 odds

2021 Rocket Richard Trophy Odds

Player (Team) Odds at DraftKings
Auston Matthews (Leafs) -118
Connor McDavid (Oilers) +300
Mikko Rantanen (Avalanche) +400
Leon Draisaitl (Oilers) +550
Alexander Ovechkin (Capitals) +550
Alex DeBrincat (Blackhawks) +1000
Max Pacioretty (Golden Knights) +1300
Tyler Toffoli (Canadiens) +1300
David Pastrnak (Bruins) +1600
Kyle Connor (Jets) +2000
Brock Boeser (Canucks) +3000
Steven Stamkos (Lightning) +3500
Jake Guentzel (Penguins) +4000
Chris Kreider (Rangers) +4000
Joe Pavelski (Stars) +6000
Sebastian Aho (Hurricanes) +6500
Patrick Kane (Blackhawks) +6500
Sidney Crosby (Penguins) +7000
Nikolaj Ehlers (Jets) +7500
Mark Scheifele (Jets) +8000

Odds as of April 5th, 2021

Looking for the latest NHL odds? – Get current moneyline odds, puck lines, and totals for all upcoming games today here.

Notable Trophy Trends

  • Only two players have scored 49 or more goals in a season since 2012: Alex Ovechkin (five times) and Leon Draisaitl (once).
  •  No player from the Western Conference has won the Rocket Richard Trophy since Corey Perry (then with the Ducks) in 2010-11.
  • The youngest players to ever win the Rocket Richard Trophy (which was established in 1998-99) are Rick Nash (2003-04) and Steven Stamkos (2011-12), both at the tender age of 19.
  • Alex Ovechkin has won nine Rocket Richard Trophy’s in his career. He has won three in a row, and seven of the last eight.

10 Past Rocket Richard Winners

Year Player Goals
2020 Alex Ovechkin & David Pastrnak 48
2019 Alex Ovechkin 51
2018 Alex Ovechkin 48
2017 Sidney Crosby 44
2016 Alex Ovechkin 50
2015 Alex Ovechkin 53
2014 Alex Ovechkin 51
2013* Alex Ovechkin 23
2012 Steven Stamkos 60
2011 Corey Perry 50

*Denotes Lockout Season – Only 48 Games Played

Keep up with all the NHL awards futures with SBD’s myriad odds trackers:

Archived Stanley Cup Odds2020

Author Image

With five years of sports journalism under his belt already, Ryan Sura may be young, but he is already making his mark. He has written for publications such as Fantasy Pros, SB Nation and TSN.ca, covering NFL, NBA, and college sports.