Upcoming Match-ups
  • The Naismith Player of the Year Award is college basketball’s biggest individual accolade
  • Upperclassmen dominate the history of the award, even in the one-and-done era
  • Track the odds for the entirety of the 2020-21 college hoops season

Every season, online sportsbooks routinely post odds on who will win the Naismith Player of the Year as the country’s top college basketball player.

Here, we track the odds across all major sportsbooks and show the odds movement throughout the season.

2021 Naismith Top Contenders

[June 17] Oklahoma State’s Cade Cunningham has opened as the +300 favorite to win the 2020-21 Naismith Player of the Year award, while USC’s Evan Mobley is the other top contender at +950

2021 Naismith Player of the Year Odds

Player Odds
Cade Cunningham (Oklahoma State) +300
Evan Mobley (USC) +950
Jalen Johnson (Duke) +1000
BJ Boston (Kentucky) +1200
Jalen Suggs (Gonzaga) +1200
Scottie Barnes (Florida State) +1400
Terrence Clarke (Kentucky) +1400
Ziaire Williams (Stanford) +1400
Greg Brown (Texas) +1600
Keon Johnson (Tennessee) +1800
Caleb Love (UNC) +2500
Jaden Springer (Tennessee) +2500
Jeremiah Robinson-Earl (Villanova) +2500
Josh Christopher (Arizona State) +2500
Moses Moody (Arkansas) +2500
Terrence Shannon (Texas Tech) +2500
Trayce Jackson-Davis (Indiana) +2500
Wendell Moore (Duke) +2500

Odds taken June 17th

Naismith Winners by Class

Williamson became just the third freshman to win the award last season, and Cole Anthony will look to become the fourth this year.

Naismith Winners by Position

Four of the first six Naismith Award recipients were centers, but that trend has changed in recent years as more schools have adopted small ball lineups. The last center to win the honor was Tim Duncan, who won by a landslide in 1997 during his senior season at Wake Forest.

Past Naismith Award Winners

Player Class Year
Obi Toppin (F, Dayton) Redshirt Sophomore 2020
Zion Williamson (F, Duke) Freshman 2019
Jalen Brunson (G, Villanova) Junior 2018
Frank Mason III (G, Kansas) Senior 2017
Buddy Hield (G, Oklahoma) Senior 2016
Frank Kaminsky (F, Wisconsin) Senior 2015
Doug McDermott (F, Creighton) Senior 2014
Trey Burke (G, Michigan) Sophomore 2013
Anthony Davis (F, Kentucky) Freshman 2012
Jimmer Fredette (G, BYU) Senior 2011
Evan Turner (G, Ohio State) Junior 2010
Blake Griffin (F, Oklahoma) Sophomore 2009
Tyler Hansbrough (F, UNC) Junior 2008
Kevin Durant (F, Texas) Freshman 2007
JJ Redick (G, Duke) Senior 2006
Andrew Bogut (F, Utah) Sophomore 2005
Jameer Nelson (G, St. Joseph’s) Senior 2004
TJ Ford (G, Texas) Sophomore 2003
Jason Williams (G, Duke) Junior 2002
Shane Battier (F, Duke) Senior 2001
Kenyon Martin (F, Cincinnati) Senior 2000

Obi Toppin dazzled voters and fans alike with his aerial prowess and double-double average before the COVID-19 shortened 2019-20 season.

Schools with the Most Naismith Winners

Mike Krzyzewski deserves plenty of credit for recruiting – and developing – talent. He coached all seven of Duke’s Naismith winners and helped shape the careers of more than a dozen Naismith semifinalists. His recent history of turning his talented puzzle pieces into more than a sum of their parts is rather shoddy, however.

Archived Naismith POY Odds: 2020

Author Image

Mitch graduated from Ryerson University's Sport Media program in June of 2018, and has been with SBD since 2019. He's worked in broadcast and digital for the Score, Sportsnet, TSN & CBC and has done play-by-play work for basketball at all levels including NCAA, Pan Am Games & U Sports.