Upcoming Match-ups
  • Who are the top contenders for the 2020 NBA MVP award?
  • Giannis Antetokounmpo was named MVP of the 2020 NBA season. This is his second consecutive MVP winning campaign 
  • Track how the odds fluctuate throughout the 2019-20 NBA season

We’ve been tracking the odds to win the 2020 NBA MVP award from our most trusted sportsbooks all year long. Check out our regularly updated graphs and tables below to see how the odds of the league’s top players have changed throughout the 2019-20 season.

2020 NBA MVP Odds

  • [September 18] Capping off his run as the heavy favorite, Antetokounmpo was named the 2019-20 MVP
  • [August 10] Despite seeding games not counting towards MVP voting, the odds have improved for LeBron to +600, while Giannis remains the heavy favorite at -3300
  • [July 15] With players now in the NBA Bubble, Giannis has only strengthened his grip on the award – all but a lock at average odds of +3300. LeBron has an average price of +950
  • [June 10] We finally have an update on MVP odds since the season was suspended, with Giannis the heavy -950 favorite. LeBron at +450 is the only other player in the stratosphere
  • [March 2] After showing out against Zion Williamson & the Pelicans this week in two games, LeBron has become the consensus second favorite to challenge Giannis
  • [February 25] While Giannis remains the overwhelming favorite, James Harden saw his price fade to +1200 despite Houston’s recent success
  • [February 18] Coming out of the All-Star Break the award is Giannis Antetokounmpo’s to lose, at average odds of -425
  • [February 7] Damian Lillard has seen his average price shorten significantly after his historic January, down to +2300 from +7000
  • [February 3] With Luka Doncic set to miss time with an ankle injury once again, his odds have faded to +600, while LeBron James & Giannis Antetokounmpo have seen their prices shorten
  • [January 23] As the Miami Heat hold onto 2nd in the East, Jimmy Butler has re-appeared on the board with average odds of +6000
  • [January 2] Antetokounmpo is now the odds-on favorite to repeat as MVP at average odds of -130, while Luka Doncic holds as top competitor after returning from injury
  • [December 18] Giannis Antetokounmpo has reached his shortest odds of the season, listed at an average of +115
  • [December 11] After peaking at an average of +250 odds last week, Luka Doncic has experienced a slight fade to +348
  • [December 2] Kawhi Leonard’s odds have continued their fall, as he’s now +3300 to win the award, as Paul George’s return and load management have taken their affect on his production
  • [November 27] Harden’s time atop the board was shortlived, as he’s faded back to +375 as Giannis regains the top spot with +225 odds. Luka Doncic has also continued his rise to second in odds, now at a price of +350
  • [November 20] James Harden has surged into first place with his magnificent month of scoring at +175, while Luka Doncic has also skyrocketed up to +700 as he puts up major numbers in Dallas
  • [November 7] After a monstrous week of three triple-doubles, LeBron James has vaulted back up the board to +700
  • [November 1] With Steph Curry likely out for the season, both James Harden and Anthony Davis have seen significant improvement to their odds, now listed at +400 for each player
  • [October 21] On the eve of the season, Anthony Davis’ odds have shortened significantly, as he is now just behind Giannis Antetokounmpo with average odds of +480
  • [September 30] With training camps set to open, Kawhi Leonard’s average odds have fallen to +930
  • [September 11] After a full summer as a member of the the Rockets, Russell Westbrook’s average odds have fallen from +1900 to +2100
  • [August 22] The Anthony Davis hype tour led in full force by LeBron has taken effect at the books, as Davis’ average odds have increased from +870  to +730.
  • [July 20] LeBron James’ average NBA MVP odds have shortened from +900 to +730
  • [July 12] James Harden and Russell Westbrook’s 2020 MVP odds have both taken a hit after teaming up in Houston
  • [July 8] Giannis Antetokounmpo is favored to win his second consecutive NBA MVP award after finishing with 78 first place votes in 2019, well ahead of Jame Harden, who garnered 23 first place votes

NBA MVP Top Contenders

Player NBA MVP Odds
Giannis Antetokounmpo (Bucks) -3300
LeBron James (Lakers) +600
James Harden (Rockets) +6600

Odds taken on August 10th

NBA MVP Trends to Consider

  • Since 1985, only two MVPs have come from a team that finished worse than second in its conference during the regular season
  • The MVP award has been won by players who were 23 or younger on just four occasions
  • Wilt Chamberlain (1960) and Wes Unseld (1969) are the only players to earn MVP honors as rookies
  • The MVP award has been won by the NBA’s leading scorer four times in the past five years
  • Only three MVPs have ever averaged fewer than 17 points per game. They were Bill Russell (1961, 1963, 1965), Wes Unseld (1969), and Steve Nash (2005)

NBA MVP Award Winners By Position

NBA MVP Trends Based On Position

  • Centers won a whopping 22 of the first 28 NBA MVP awards
  • Guards have won eight of the last 14 NBA MVP awards
  • Michael Jordan personally won five of the eight NBA MVP awards that have been given to shooting guards


Looking for the latest NBA odds? – Get current spreads, totals, and moneyline odds for tonight’s games here.

Past 10 NBA MVP Winners

Year Player PPG RPG APG
2019 Giannis Antetokounmpo (Bucks) 27.7 12.5 5.9
2018 James Harden (Rockets) 30.4 5.4 8.8
2017 Russell Westbrook (Thunder) 31.6 10.7 10.4
2016 Steph Curry (Warriors) 30.1 5.4 6.7
2015 Steph Curry (Warriors) 23.8 4.3 7.7
2014 Kevin Durant (Thunder) 32.0 7.4 5.5
2013 LeBron James (Heat) 26.8 8.0 7.3
2012 LeBron James (Heat) 27.1 7.9 6.2
2011 Derrick Rose (Bulls) 25.0 4.1 7.7
2010 LeBron James (Cavs) 29.7 7.3 8.6

Derrick Rose became the youngest player to win MVP honors in NBA history in 2011. He was just 22-years-old at the time and in his third year in the league.

NBA Teams with the Most MVP Winners

It should come as no surprise that the NBA franchise with the most championships also has the most league MVPs. Four different Celtics have been named the Association’s most valuable player including Bob Cousy (1957), Bill Russell (1958, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1965), Dave Cowens (1973), and Larry Bird (1984, 1985, 1986). Need another fun fact to share at the bar? Cowens is the only MVP who also worked as a cab driver. Beat that Michael Jordan!

Players with Multiple NBA MVP Awards

Player MVP Awards Years
Kareem Abdul-Jabbar 6 1971, 1972, 1974, 1976, 1977, 1980
Bill Russell 5 1958, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1965
Michael Jordan 5 1988, 1991, 1992, 1996, 1998
Wilt Chamberlain 4 1960, 1966, 1967, 1968
LeBron James 4 2009, 2010, 2012, 2013
Larry Bird 3 1984, 1985, 1986
Magic Johnson 3 1987, 1989, 1990
Moses Malone 3 1979, 1982, 1983
Bob Pettit 2 1956, 1959
Karl Malone 2 1997, 1999
Tim Duncan 2 2002, 2003
Steve Nash 2 2005, 2006
Steph Curry 2 2015, 2016

NBA MVP Historical Trends

  • Celtics legend Bill Russell was the first player to win back-to-back MVP awards in 1961 and 1962
  • Russell was also the first player to win three consecutive MVP awards (1961-63). The only other players who accomplished the same feat are Wilt Chamberlain (1966-68) and Larry Bird (1984-86)

NBA MVP Trends Based Upon Country of Origin

  • Americans have won 92% of the NBA MVP awards despite the fact that nearly 28% of the league’s current players were born outside of the U.S.
  • The NBA MVP award was given to non-U.S.-born players three straight times from 2005-07

Archived NBA MVP Award Odds: 2019