Upcoming Match-ups
  • Get the latest odds to win the 2023-24 NFL Coach of the Year award
  • Dolphins coach Mike McDaniel is the Coach of the Year favorite
  • Track how the NFL COY odds change throughout the course of the 2023-24 NFL season

The Associated Press has been handing out an NFL Coach of the Year award since 1957. Below you’ll find the odds to win the 2023 NFL COY award. The graphs below were generated by averaging the odds from multiple sportsbooks.

2023 NFL Coach of the Year Award Odds & Favorites

The NFL Coach of the Year award is not always awarded to the best head coach in the league. Often, it goes to the coach who turned around a bad team early in his tenure, or one whose team still won a lot of games while playing without some of their stars.

It’s hard to predict which coaches will see their teams suffer through some bad injury luck, but it is easy to identify the candidates to turn around bad or underachieving teams. This is why you saw coaches like Dan Campbell, whose Lions have a great opportunity to take the next step in their turnaround, Sean Payton, who takes over a Broncos team who may have been the biggest disappointment in the league last year, Robert Saleh, whose Jets looked like a real threat with Aaron Rodgers but now have the opportunity to overcome a major injury as well, and Matt Eberflus, who seemed to be getting the Bears on the right track in his first year last season.

We have now seen Payton, Saleh, and Eberflus’ odds tank after the first three weeks of the season. Meanwhile, Mike McDaniel has taken over as the favorite with Arthur Smith and Dan Campbell all receiving short odds as well.


Coach (Team) Odds
Mike McDaniel (Dolphins) +380
Dan Campbell (Lions) +380
Demeco Ryans (Texans) +1000
Kyle Shanahan (49ers) +1000
Shane Steichen (Colts) +1500
John Harbaugh (Ravens) +1500
Todd Bowles (Buccaneers) +1800
Sean McVay (Rams) +2200
Arthur Smith (Falcons) +2500
Sean McDermott (Bills) +2500
Matt Lafleur (Packers) +2500
Mike Tomlin (Steelers) +2800
Pete Carroll (Seahawks) +3000
Doug Pederson (Jaguars) +3000
Mike Vrabel (Titans) +3000
Kevin Stefanski (Browns) +3500
Nick Sirianni (Eagles) +3500
Ron Rivera (Commanders) +4000
Dennis Allen (Saints) +4000
Robert Saleh (Jets) +4000
Mike McCarthy (Cowboys) +4500
Andy Reid (Chiefs) +5000
Jonathan Gannon (Cardinals) +5000
Bill Belichick (Patriots) +6000
Kevin O’Connell (Vikings) +10000
Zac Taylor (Bengals) +10000
Josh McDaniels (Raiders) +13000
Brandon Staley (Chargers) +13000
Sean Payton (Broncos) +13000
Frank Reich (Panthers) +15000
Brian Daboll (Giants) +20000
Matt Eberflus (Bears) +20000

Mike McDaniel, who is headed into his second season as head coach of the Dolphins, is the new favorite to win 2023-24 NFL Coach of the Year with +400 odds. McDaniel inherited a pretty decent Dolphins team, though they were really struggling to develop their young quarterback. Under McDaniel, Tua is thriving and the Dolphins offense looks like one of the league’s best. A $20 bet on McDaniel to win the award would profit $80 and return $100.

Dan Campbell (+750), Arthur Smith (+1000), Matt LaFleur (+1400), and John Harbaugh (+1500) round out the top five contenders.

*Odds as of October 2 at DraftKings Sportsbook. Be sure to check out the best DraftKings promo codes before signing up.

For more great bonuses, check out our BetMGM promo code and FanDuel Sportsbook promo code pages. While you’re at it, take a peek at our excellent Bet365 bonus code page that highlights welcome offers from one of the top new sportsbooks in North America.

Here are some more notes on the movement we have seen:

  • [September 18] After Week 2, Mike McDaniel has taken over as the new favorite to win NFL Coach of the Year. McDaniel’s Dolphins have started the season 2-0 after beating the Patriots on the road in Week 2. His odds improved from +1400 to +700. Arthur Smith still has the second-best odds, but he also saw his odds improve, going from +1200 to +800. Dan Campbell, on the other hand, was the favorite entering Week 2, but a loss to the Seahawks has resulted in his odds fading from +800 to +950.
  • [September 11] Arthur Smith saw his odds improve from +1400 to +1100 after the Falcons beat the Panthers in Week 1. Atlanta’s head coach now has the second-best odds on the board. Sean Payton, who had the second-best odds entering Week 1, faded from +900 to +1400 after the Broncos were upset by the Raiders at home. The biggest move comes from Todd Bowles, who had the worst COY odds entering Week 1, moving from +6000 to +3500 after the Bucs upset the Vikings.
  • [March 6] Dan Campbell has opened as the favorite to win the 2023-24 NFL COY award with +1100 odds. Sean Payton has the next best odds at +1200.

Looking for the latest NFL odds? – Get current spreads, totals, and moneyline odds for all upcoming games this week here.


A coach from the AFC has won NFL COY in three of the last four.

Odds for Past Winners

Since 1991, all but one NFL Coach of the Year winner has led their team to at least ten wins in taking home the honor. The lone winner without ten wins was Brian Daboll last season, whose Giants only went 9-7-1. Daboll’s turnaround was still significant enough, as he took over a team that went 4-13 the previous season and made a QB who had firmly been labeled a bust look very serviceable.

The only other notable from that streak above is Bruce Arians, who led the Colts to a 9-3 record as head coach after taking over for Chuck Pagano after he stepped away for health reasons. The Colts did still win 11 games, though.

Past Coach of the Year Winners

Year Coach of the Year Team Record
2022 Brian Daboll Giants 9-7-1
2021 Mike Vrabel Titans 12-5
2020 Kevin Stefanski Browns 11-5
2019 John Harbaugh Ravens 14-2
2018 Matt Nagy Bears 12-4
2017 Sean McVay Rams 11-5
2016 Jason Garrett Cowboys 13-3
2015 Ron Rivera (2) Panthers 15-1
2014 Bruce Arians (2) Cardinals 11-5
2013 Ron Rivera Panthers 12-4

The 2021-22 NFL season was the first time we saw the regular season schedule expanded to 18 weeks, with each team playing 17 games. This is why you see the extra game in Mike Vrabel and Brian Daboll’s respective records the past two seasons.

We have not seen a coach win the honor in back-to-back years since Joe Gibbs in 1982 and 1983.

Archived NFL Coach of the Year odds: 2022, 2021, 2020, 2019

Who is the favorite to win Coach of the Year NFL?

Lions head coach Dan Campbell is the favorite to win NFL Coach of the Year this season.

Who are the favorites for Coach of the Year?

Dan Campbell (Lions), Sean Payton (Broncos), Robert Saleh (Jets), Matt Eberflus (Bears), and Frank Reich (Panthers) are the top five contenders to win NFL Coach of the Year.

Who won NFL Coach of the Year 2023?

Brian Daboll, who led the Giants to a 9-7-1 record and Wild Card win over the Vikings in his first year, won the 2022-23 NFL Coach of the Year award. Daboll took over a Giants team who went 4-13 the previous year.

Author Image

After working in TV, Matt turned his focus towards numbers, specifically odds. He has been with us since 2016 and serves as SBD's Editor-in-Chief, credited with creating our futures trackers, SBD's score predictor, SBD Sharp, and his own model for calculating NFL SOS, among other products.