Upcoming Match-ups
  • See the most recent Ballon d’Or odds
  • Barcelona star and Argentine Lionel Messi is a heavy early favorite to win the 2021 Ballon d’Or
  • Track each player’s odds movement during the year

We are tracking the odds for each player contending to take home the 2021 Ballon d’Or award.

The graphs below are generated by averaging the odds from multiple sources and will be updated throughout the year.

Ballon d’Or Top Contenders

  • [7/19/21 ] Lionel Messi is the early favorite at -250 odds after winning the Copa America with Argentina

2021 Ballon d’Or Top Contender Odds

Player Odds
Lionel Messi -250
Cristiano Ronaldo +700
Robert Lewandowski +700
Ngolo Kante +800
Harry Kane +900
Raheem Sterling +1100
Jorginho +1400
Kevin de Bruyne +1600
Neymar +2000
Ciro Immobile +2500
Romelu Lukaku +2500
Kylian Mbappe +3300
Ruben Dias +4000
Erling Haaland +5000
Gianluigi Donnarumma +5000
Luis Suarez +5000
Mohamed Saleh +5000
Phil Foden +5000
Bruno Fernandes +6600
Karim Benzema +6600

Odds as of July 19 at William Hill

The Ballon d’Or award has been dominated by two players over the past decade. Luka Modric may have won the honor in 2018, but Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo won in each of the previous ten seasons. That trend continued in 2019 with Messi receiving his sixth Ballon d’Or award. No trophy was awarded in 2020 because of the coronavirus.

Recent Ballon d’Or Winners

Year Player
2020 Not Awarded
2019 Lionel Messi
2018 Luka Modric
2017 Cristiano Ronaldo
2016 Cristiano Ronaldo
2015 Lionel Messi
2014 Cristiano Ronaldo
2013 Cristiano Ronaldo
2012 Lionel Messi
2011 Lionel Messi
2010 Lionel Messi
2009 Lionel Messi
2008 Cristiano Ronaldo

Most Ballon d’Or Awards

Player Number of Awards
Lionel Messi 6
Cristiano Ronaldo 5
Marco van Basten 3
Michel Platini 3
Johan Cruyff 3

Archived Trackers: 20202019

Author Image

Ryan is SBD's resident soccer pro, though his repertoire is by no means limited to a single sport. His articles have been published by the Canadian Hockey League (CHL), Ontario Hockey League (OHL), and the Kitchener Rangers, and outlets like SportsXpress and Shredthespread.com