Upcoming Match-ups
  • There was a three-way tie for the Premier League’s Golden Boot award last year as each finished with 22 goals
  • Track the odds for each of the top contenders to win the award in the 2019-20 season
  • Looking for Premier League outright odds?

We’ve been tracking the odds to win the 2019-20 England Premier League Golden Boot as the league’s top scorer since they became available and have included the info below. The graphs below are generated by averaging the odds from multiple sources and will be updated throughout the year.

EPL Golden Boot Top Contenders

  • [Jun 11] With Harry Kane given plenty of time to recover during the coronavirus stoppage, his odds have shortened from +20000 in February to +1600 today
  • [Feb 24] With a brace this weekend, Aubameyang has pulled into a tie with Vardy for the lead at 17 goals and now has odds of 3-1
  • [Jan 20] With six goals in his three matches, Aguero is now just two goals back of Vardy and has seen his odds shorten from an average of +1400 in December to +250 today
  • [Dec 23] With a six-goal lead in the Golden Boot race, Vardy is now the even-money favorite
  • [Nov 26] Jamie Vardy leads the way as top favorite with odds of +313, while Raul Jiminez has also seen his odds slashed from +10800 to +4000 since last month
  • [Oct 28] Leicester’s Jamie Vardy scored a hat-trick in their 9-0 Matchday 10 win and has seen his Golden Boot odds shorten from +1600 to +600
  • [Oct 8] Chelsea’s Tammy Abraham shares the goalscoring lead with City’s Sergio Aguero, seeing Abraham’s odds shorten all the way down to +700 from +3650. Aguero meanwhile has shortened from +475 to +300
  • [Aug 29] With five goals on the year already, Norwich’s Teemu Pukki has raced out to an early lead to be top scorer. His odds have been drastically cut from +15000 on August 12 to +1800 today
  • [Aug 12] Big movement after the opening weekend with Raheem Sterling’s odds shortening from +1400 to +600 and Marcus Rashford’s from +2500 to +1000 after scoring three and two goals respectively
  • [Aug 2] Harry Kane’s odds have shortened as the favorite from +550 to +375. Big movement has come on Raheem Sterling, a +2500 bet last month and now just +1400
  • [July 8] Harry Kane and Mohamed Salah are the early favorites to be top scorer this season at odds of +550. Not far behind are Sergio Aguero and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang at +700

2020 Premier League Golden Boot Odds

Team Odds
Jamie Vardy +225
Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang +350
Mohamed Salah +500
Sergio Aguero +500
Sadio Mane +1200
Marcus Rashford +1400
Harry Kane +1600
Danny Ings +2000
Tammy Abraham +2500
Dominic Calvert-Lewin +3300

Odds taken Jun. 11

Last year Liverpool teammates Mohamed Salah and Sadio Mane, along with Arsenal’s Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang all finished tied with 22 goals for the season.

Mane has the longest opening odds of any of last year’s winners with odds of 14-1.

It was back-to-back years that Salah held at least part of the honor. He scored a league-leading 32 goals in 2017-18.

Harry Kane and Sergio Aguero were winners of the award in the three years prior. Kane won in back-to-back years in 2015-16 and 2016-17, with Aguero winning in 2014-15.

The 22 goals needed to win the award last season was the lowest total to win the Golden Boot since the 20 goals scored to win it in 2010-11 by Carlos Tevez and Dimitar Berbatov.

Only two players have ever won the award three-straight seasons. That includes Alan Shearer (1995, 1996, 1997) and Thierry Henry (2004, 2005, 2006).

Past Premier League Golden Boot Winners

Year Player(s) Team Goals
2018-19 Mohamed Salah/Sadio Mane/Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang Liverpool/Liverpool/Arsenal 22
2017-18 Mohamed Salah Liverpool 32
2016-17 Harry Kane Tottenham 29
2015-16 Harry Kane Tottenham 25
2014-15 Sergio Aguero Man City 26
2013-14 Luis Suarez Liverpool 31
2012-13 Robin van Persie Man U 26
2011-12 Robin van Persie Arsenal 30
2010-11 Carlos Tevez/Dimitar Berbatov Man City/Man U 20
2009-10 Didier Drogba Chelsea 29
Author Image

Ryan is SBD's resident soccer pro, though his repertoire is by no means limited to a single sport. His articles have been published by the Canadian Hockey League (CHL), Ontario Hockey League (OHL), and the Kitchener Rangers, and outlets like SportsXpress and Shredthespread.com