Upcoming Match-ups
  • See the most recent 2021 Copa América odds for all 12 teams
  • Argentina and Brazil are the clear favorites to win 2021’s rescheduled tournament
  • Track each team’s odds movement leading up to and during the tournament

We are tracking the odds for each of the 12 nations participating in next summer’s 2021 Copa América tournament taking place in both Argentina and Colombia. Due to the coronavirus outbreak the competition has been moved from 2020 to 2021. It will now take place from June 11 – July 10, 2021.

It is the first time the CONMEBOL tournament will be played in multiple countries during the tournament and will now re-start with a new edition of the competition every four years, on even years. Ecuador is set to host in 2024.

The graphs below are generated by averaging the odds from multiple sources and will be updated throughout the tournament.

CONMEBOL Copa América Top Contenders

The tournament features 10 South American nations along with two guest participants Australia and Qatar as the last two Asian Cup champions.

Here are some more notes on the movement from the major contenders for Copa América 2019:

  • [3/25/21] Little movement over the past year, though Chile have seen their odds come in from +1350 to +1150
  • [3/20/20] With the tournament being moved to the summer of 2021 this week due to the coronavirus, not much has changed in the odds, with Argentina still favored and Uruguay only slightly shorter since January from +833 to +800
  • [12/13/19] Co-hosts Argentina have opened as favorites at average off odds of +188, with defending champions Brazil a close second at +225

2021 Copa América Odds

Country Odds
Argentina +175
Brazil +225
Colombia +450
Uruguay +900
Chile +1100
Peru +2200
Paraguay +3300
Venezuela +3300
Ecuador +4000
Australia +6600
Qatar +8000
Bolivia +10000

Odds taken Mar 25 at BetMGM

Odds By Zone

The participating nations will be split into two zones/groups. The North Zone, hosted by Colombia, consists of Colombia, Brazil, Venezuela, Ecuador and Peru. While the South Zone, hosted by Argentina, also includes Chile, Uruguay, Argentina, Paraguay and Bolivia.

Australia and Qatar were drawn by lottery into each zone with Qatar being placed in the North and Australia the South.

With six nations in each zone/group, four will advance from each after group stage matches. Thus, eliminating four teams and advancing the final eight nations to a quarterfinal, followed by the semis and final.

Recent CONMEBOL Copa América Winners

Year Country
2019 Brazil
2016 Chile
2015 Chile
2011 Uruguay
2007 Brazil
2004 Brazil
2001 Colombia
1999 Brazil
1997 Brazil
1995 Uruguay
1993 Argentina

The CONMEMOL tournament typically takes place every four years with Chile winning on home soil in 2015 and Brazil winning in 2019.

2016 also featured a special extra edition of the tournament which was in its 100th year. The Copa América Centenario included an expanded field of 16 teams instead of 12, with six nations getting the invite from CONCACAF.

Most Copa América Titles

Country Number of Titles
Uruguay 15
Argentina 14
Brazil 9
Chile 2
Paraguay 2
Peru 2
Bolivia 1
Colombia 1

Chile won back-to-back titles by winning in 2015 and winning the Copa América Centenario version of the tournament by defeating Argentina in penalties in 2016. And while Brazil won their ninth championship in 2019, neither of these nations hold the record for most Copa America titles. That honor goes to Uruguay (15) and Argentina (14) who have historically dominated the tournament.

However, La Albiceleste are mired in a drought, having not won the title since 1993 despite having arguably one the greatest players of all-time on their roster in Lionel Messi.

Archived Copa América Odds: 2019

Author Image

Ryan is SBD's resident soccer pro, though his repertoire is by no means limited to a single sport. His articles have been published by the Canadian Hockey League (CHL), Ontario Hockey League (OHL), and the Kitchener Rangers, and outlets like SportsXpress and Shredthespread.com