Upcoming Match-ups

Rob Gronkowski Favored to Win 2020 NFL Comeback Player of the Year After Joining Bucs

Gronk celebrates with teammates
Can Rob Gronkowski put together a monster campaign in his return? Photo from Wiki Commons.
  • Coming out of retirement to play for the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Rob Gronkowski is the +350 favorite to win the 2020 NFL Comeback Player of the Year Award
  • Are quarterbacks Ben Roethlisberger or Matthew Stafford better bets to win CPOY?
  • See the full odds board within the story below

Rob Gronkowski has been an active player for less than a week, and he’s already being touted as the NFL’s comeback player of the year.

Gronkowski was traded to the Tampa Bay Buccaneers last week after announcing he was ending his one-year retirement from the NFL. Bookmakers responded quickly and established the veteran tight end as the +350 chalk to win the 2020 NFL Comeback Player of the Year Award.

2020 NFL Comeback Player of the Year Odds

Player Odds
Rob Gronkowski +350
Ben Roethlisberger +400
Matthew Stafford +625
JJ Watt +700
Cam Newton +750
AJ Green +800
Nick Foles +1000
Antonio Brown +1200
Myles Garrett +2400
Bradley Chubb +3300
DeSean Jackson +4000
Andy Dalton +5000
CJ Mosley +5000
Joe Flacco +5000
TY Hilton +6000
Alex Smith +6600
Jordan Reed +6600
Keanu Neal +6600
Kwon Alexander +6600
Malcolm Butler +6600
Akiem Hicks +7500
Alshon Jeffrey +7500
Stephen Gostkowski +7500
Josh Rosen +10000
Trent Williams +10000
Xavien Howard +10000
Eli Manning +12500
Lamar Miller +12500

Odds taken April 28th

Gronkowski previously was NFL CPOY in 2014. He wasn’t even on the board when odds opened for this award last month.

Gronkowski Has Been There and Come Back

Gronkowski became, and remains the only tight end to win the NFL’s Comeback Player of the Year Award when he earned it in 2014. The previous season, ACL and MCL tears ended his season after seven games.

Gronkowski caught 72 passes for 1,167 yards and 11 touchdowns and was a unanimous first team All-Pro. He snared six passes for 68 yards and a TD as New England beat Seattle in the Super Bowl.

On March 24, 2019, after nine NFL seasons, Gronk announced his retirement. He stated at the time that the number of injuries he’d endured over the years had sapped the joy he gained from football out of him.

After joining the Bucs and his old pal Tom Brady, Gronk took time to thank Patriots fans via an Instagram post. He also noted that his fire is back.

If Gronkowski were to win, he’d join Chad Pennington (2006, 2008) as two-time NFL CPOY recipients.

QB Always a Good Comeback Story

Quarterbacks are the players in charge of the show. It’s only natural that when they put on a big show after missing some time, they’re going to get extra notice.

It should come as no surprise then that since 2008, eight QBs have been recognized as the NFL CPOY. The last two winners – Andrew Luck of the Indianapolis Colts (2018) and Ryan Tannehill of the Tennessee Titans (2019) – were both QBs.

Luck came back following a season-long absence due to shoulder surgery. That certainly makes Pittsburgh Steelers QB Ben Roethlisberger an intriguing play.

Big Ben missed all but two games last season after suffering a season-ending elbow injury. In 2018, he passed for an NFL-leading 5,129 yards.

When the betting line for 2020 NFL CPOY first opened, Roethlisberger was the +225 chalk. He’s now at +400.

Matthew Stafford of the Detroit Lions (+625) is another QB returning from a season-ending injury. Stafford has always put up the stats.

The Lions were 3-4-1 when Stafford was injured. They finished the season 3-12-1.

Foles a Great Value Bet

Tannehill, last season’s NFL CPOY, came out of nowhere. Odds weren’t even offered on him when the season got underway.  Tannehill replaced Marcus Mariota as the Titans’ starter and led Tennessee to the AFC Championship Game.

Nick Foles knows what that’s like. Three years ago, he subbed for an injured Carson Wentz and quarterbacked the Philadelphia Eagles to a Super Bowl title.

Traded by the Jacksonville Jaguars to the Chicago Bears, Foles is positioned to engineer another miracle. In 2018, Chicago were NFC North champions. Last season, the Bears were a disappointing 8-8.

Foles and Bears coach Matt Nagy have a history together in both Philly and Kansas City. Chicago possesses a fierce defense. If Foles can get enough out of the offense to put the Bears back into the postseason, the NFL CPOY is his for the taking.

He opened at odds of +600. Today, you can get Foles for the value price of +1000.

Take it before the offer expires.

Pick: Nick Foles (+1000)

Author Image

Let's have fun and keep it civil.